We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous improvements, ignore those old reviews, it is greatly improved, clean, comfortable, with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Groton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tremendous improvements, ignore those old reviews, it is greatly improved, clean, comfortable, with excellent service”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

At first seeing prior reviews I was reluctant to book our stay here but living in the area had known of this property and liked the convenient and scenic location on the water and near Stonington Borough, the casinos and more and after speaking with the general manager, felt assured to make our reservation. We have been here four days now and could not be more pleased with our stay and will be staying another week as well. You can sign up on the America's Value Inn website for a 15% discount too and the rates are very reasonable for this area especially in the summer season. Our room is IMMACULATELY clean, freshly painted, with comfortable bed, desk and nice bathroom and lovely views. The cleaning staff does a great job daily and everyone goes out of their way to make you comfortable here. The internet access is excellent I have 5 bars here excellent wifi signal as I write this review with several access points to connect too included free with the room, I think this hotel is a great place to stay if you want a nice location close to many local attractions with a peaceful environment and comfortable amenities and immaculately clean rooms. There are also picnic tables outside on the lovely grounds with water views. The staff has truly been exceptionally good and eager to please. I am a picky traveler and have stayed in 5 star hotels and I think the accommodations here are excellent for the price, location and amenities and so I give it a 5-star recommendation. Don't spend all your money at the pricey casino hotels or the big chain hotels in nearby Mystic I would give this place a try instead and save your money for doing more fun things in this great area.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view towards the back if you want something with a partial water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnapearlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    12
    7
    48
See reviews for
15
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Filthy Location: 812 Stonington Road, Stonington CT 06378. I requested a one night stay over. They quoted me 55.00 for the night. Not only did they bill my checking account twice 3 days apart but, the first amount was for $126.50 and the second amount improperly billed was $63.25. In addition; we didn't even stay. We left the key on the desk as instructed and drove all the way home instead. The place was FLITHY. Hairs in the shower, rugs had not been vacuumed, the ceiling was peeling and coming down, the mattress did not fit the headboard, they did not use fitted sheets and I suspect they had bedbugs. Very shady operation and I will make sure I write a review on this filthy place everywhere I can find. Location: 812 Stonington Road, Stonington CT 06378 - 860-

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvistonington, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are sorry you were happy with your stay at our property in Stonington, Ct, there is never an excuse for that, but we must respond by reminding you that you did stay three nights for $55.00 per night. The $63.25 is including tax. The $126.50 was a charge for the first two nights as originally discussed. You then decided to stay an additional night so we charged you an additional $63.25 for the third night. We would have hoped that if you had such a bad experience you would've come to the office to tell us, so we would have been able to move you to another room. We checked the room and there is no chipping or peeling on the ceiling, and all of our mattresses match the headboards...we may have used a flat sheet on the mattress instead of a fitted one, because the housekeepers prefer using them. We have spoken to them and they know to use the fitted version. As far as saying you suspect bed bugs is a very serious assumption. We take great pride in having our rooms checked continuously to make sure we have a clean and quality hotel. Again, we are sorry you did not enjoy yourself, we hope you might try us again, as we have made many more improvements to our property and will do so as we continue to serve our guests in Stonington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stonington hotels

Edgewater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The room was damp and smelled of mold. There were no amenities at all. Do not stay there. Most of the staff did not speak english. If I had known about this before we booked on travelocity I would not have chosen this hotel. The AC fluctuated constantly and could not rid the room of the dampness. Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dustin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvistonington, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We do know that our property had a history of dampness being so close to the water, and were actively trying to rid the problem. You will be delighted to know that last winter we had a basement specialist come to assess our problem and they have taken care of all mustiness in our rooms. We couldn't be happier! Being so close to the water always has some side affects, but we can assure you this longtime problem has finally been solved! We would like you to come visit us when passing through and you can see for yourself how we've improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We checked in and went to our room to find a musty smelling room, two airconditioners one of which didn't work, cracked paint, dreadful decorations and mold on the walls. It was reasonably clean as a positive but not worth the $$ as I have stayed in motels at the same price range that included breakfast! Just don't bother.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank REDCAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvistonington, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
As you can see by our responses to the other reviews, we have taken care of the musty odor. We have never had mold in our bathrooms. We did, however, instruct all of our housekeepers to check our guest bathrooms thoroughly. It is extremely important that we make all of our guests happy and want to see you return. There is never an excuse for anything less than perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here, I repeat. DO NOT STAY HERE. The smell was atrocious. We had to keep the windows open, air conditioning on, bathroom exhaust on, to try and get rid of the smell.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvistonington, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are so sorry you had to go through that to get fresh air. We have completely corrected the must odor problem! We would love for you to come and see for yourself how fresh the rooms are now! We are also working on several other upgrades and will keep doing so to keep our property at it's best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We wanted a relaxing brief trip while visiting relatives in another part of the state. The inn was convenient to golf and the casino. The room was clean and comfortable. While breakfast was ok, the setting was relaxing It was a bit irritating that I had to ask for more coffee and not able to serve myself. It was great that there was an exercise room as well as walking distance to the beach.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBSCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I think they have really changed and improved the hotel , this was my second visit and my previous visit was not so great and I wasn't planning a second visit but I had to for personal reasons. They changed the hotel a lot the bathroom is suprisingly clean and the beds are actually comfortable. I would surly recommend this hotel and IRS a nice place to really go when your away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pink s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
3.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
698 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
4.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
693 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic
Address: 812 Stonington Road, Stonington, CT 06378 (Formerly Sea Breeze Inn)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Stonington/Mystic. We are located on Route 1, only four miles from Mystic attractions and ten miles from Rhode Island. While staying with us be sure to visit the Old Lighthouse Museum, Mystic Aquarium, and Mystic Seaport Museum. Relax with a day at the Misquamicut State Beaches, Historic Stonington Village, or Old Mystic Village. Gamblers can try their hand at Foxwoods Resort Casino or the Mohegan Sun Casino. Connecticut College is also nearby. Enjoy a delicious meal at one of the local restaurants including the Dog Watch Cafe, Skipper's Dock, and A Taste of India. Come enjoy our quiet and convenient location and pay less than at other Mystic area hotels. We are a 100 percent smoke free hotel offering affordable rates, comfortable accommodations, and a friendly front desk staff to help you feel at home. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access available in our guest rooms and lobby. Take advantage of our business center with fax and copy capabilities. Spend some quality family time outside in our picnic area. Step into the privacy of your own large guest room with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, clock radio, iron, ironing board, and free local calls. Sorry, no pets allowed. Children age 18 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. At Americas Best Value Inn Stonington/Mystic, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Stonington
Sea Breeze Hotel Stonington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing