We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”
Review of Orchard Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Stonington B&B and Inns
new york, ny
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed here one night and found the Orchard Street Inn to be a perfect spot for our quick getaway weekend. Very true to all its reviews. The place is clean and the hosts are friendly. The bed in the room was extremely comfortable. We have no problem staying here again. Do not hesitate to make a reservation and enjoy this b & b.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

orchard street inn is the only bed and breakfast in the historic borough of stonington, ct, a few miles east of mystic and a few miles west of the rhode island line. a few short blocks from the town center, the inn provides complete peace and quiet in 6 rooms, three in the brand new main house, and three in the garden cottage, where each beautifully and uniquely decorated room and private bath enjoy a secluded garden spot, with reading chairs. the owner, dick, couldn't have been more pleasant when we reserved the room, and we enjoyed our breakast on the first day with another well travelled couple and the second day with him, relishing our home cooked breakfasts of french toast and eggs, sausage and bacon, greek yogurt and fruit. bikes available, too.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WideWorldTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We enjoyed every moment of our stay at the Orchard Street Inn. The comfort and detail of the rooms is outstanding and breakfast is a feast! Such great conversations with new friends over coffee and a short walk to everything Stonington. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derby92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

This was our first visit to Stonington.We spent 3 days here for July 4th weekend. We were hoping for a quiet get away, but, not too far away. Orchard Street Inn was exactly that. The owner bent over backwards to accomodate us-especially since the day before our arrival it had rained 6 1/2 inches in a 6 hour time span. We were housed in the cottage to the rear of the property and he quickly solved the water issue unobtrusively. He then did evrything he could to make us feel very comfortable & I appreciate that.
Yes, you can see on the map that a train track is nearby,but, it runs infrequently, and was barely noticeable. I spent quite awhile on the patio reading and studying and the train was not an issue. It was VERY quiet in the cottage at night. The private patio has a lovely garden & borders on protected land. The room has a small refrigerator and separate luxurious bathroom. The bed was very comfortable & we slept well. The breakfast was bountiful & delicious & the owner accomodated my dietary restrictions & also, gave us a choice of time - very nice, since we are early birds.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

We've been to several bed and breakfast inns, but this one was by far the best. The rooms were spotless and soooooo pretty with really comfortable beds. The innkeepers were friendly and gave us some great ideas about what was around the area. We were interested in a winery tour so they kindly set it up for us.
The breakfast was wonderful.

We've already decided to come back in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineStateFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

This B&B is in a very quiet corner of a quaint fishing village, a stone's throw from the harbour. The accommodation here is spotless, very comfortable with modern bathrooms and nice and quiet. Dick welcomed us warmly, showed us to our room - the Delphinium - and immediately asked if he could help us with dinner arrangements. We took his advice and went to 'Noahs' restaurant, where Dick kindly called and reserved a table for us as it was a busy Saturday night. We would certainly recommend this restaurant as the food and service were exceptional.
Breakfast at the B&B was superb, Regina is a great cook and nothing was too much trouble, we and the other guests were all looked after extremely well.
We would definitely recommend staying here at Stonington if you are considering a visit to nearby Mystic Seaport.

  • Liked — comfort and quietness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKMaggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Every year for the past 5 years my wife and I have spent a night or two at this wonderful B&B for our anniversary. Dick and Regina are the ideal hosts, the property is in impeccable condition, and Stonington is a beautiful, quiet town, surrounded by water, perfect for walks at any time of year.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
3.1 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
692 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
679 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
817 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,024 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Street Inn

Property: Orchard Street Inn
Address: 41 Orchard St, Stonington, CT 06378-1329
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing