We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Cheap Italian in Good Weather”
Review of Capriccio Cafe

Capriccio Cafe
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Stamford
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Good Cheap Italian in Good Weather”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On Bedford street, onew of thew newly established out door restaurants that now line the street, this offers good, freshly prepared italian and salads at vewry reasonable prices.
Fresh ingredients and changing menu.
Has become a regular spot for us.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    40
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Outdoor Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Capriccio's has been here several years and it is always consistently good. Wonderful salads and wonderful pastas. Always plenty of wait staff who are attentive. I wish they had more non-carbohydrate offerings, but I will still keep coming back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMEPLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“I have been eating here for 10 years now!! You should try it today!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a perfect spot and my first love in CT restaurants, the food is always perfect! The owner is an awesome person that cares about his guest! The location is perfect!! I really really love this spot!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
817 reviews
478 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Good food though service was lacking”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

In town for business with locals who raved about this place. The food was very good. The grilled calamari and crab cake appetizers were good as was my pasta ala vodka but the service was lacking. I had to ask three times for a glass for my beer. The server seemed unable to figure out how to arrange all of the items on the table and we were left to juggling plates - basically the service was not very attentive nor experienced. The outdoor seating was very pleasant on this hot evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“They've Lived off Location & Gotten Away With Poor Service”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I hate to admit it but the food is actually pretty good here. I'd rather just say it's terrible and write them off for good but I find myself grabbing takeout from them once in a while. The problem with them is that their service is horrible and crazy slow. They've been resting on the laurels of being one of the only outside games on broad street. Now that has all changed with Remo's getting outdoor seating, Zaza has been coming on strong. It will catch up with Capriccio eventually in my opinion.

Having eating at similiar cafe's in Europe, where the owners are from, I understand their approach but it just doesn't work in such a crowed market with too many options to chose from. Owners have established Capriccio's with the european style of laid back, take your time, it's an experience not just eating etc etc but as many have said it's really aggravating if you are actually hungry.

My recommendation is to get takeout, or just go for drinks/snacks when you are not in a rush. Of course go when the weather is awesome and you can sit outside.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gpards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capriccio Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Capriccio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing