We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stamford / New York City
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Going in I knew not to expect much. The little things I do expect: clean towels, an iron, a remote control for the television. None of which were there.
When I stay in a hotel for business I like to have a fridge and microwave in my room: cuts down on costs. My coworker requested one for his room and got it. I request one for my room and get denied. Am I to believe there is but one mini fridge and microwave in the entire facility?
The breakfast is nothing but carbs and sugar. No hot food, no protein. The first morning there wasn't even milk for the cereal. I was better off at the Starbucks across the way.
All-in-all, top five worst hotels I have ever stayed at. The cleaning people must have a cycle: make bed this day, vacuum the next, do nothing on the third. The room was consistently messy when I got back from work and it was a toss-up whether or not we would have fresh towels.
I do not recommend staying here. The price is way to high for what you get. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank btolde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 302 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Ave Maria, Florida
1
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have returns club number.
We will NEVER stay here again when in the Stamford/Greenwich area to visit family and friends.
Originally liked the pet friendly feature, but pet is no longer an option.

We are sorry to see the hotel loose it's quality during the past few years.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Late check-in's are ok...GOOD Breakfast was ok...GOOD Room was clean and the bed was comfy...VERY GOOD That's all that really matters when rating a hotel so I recommend it for the one who needs a nice place to stay...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank armydude4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. We were visiting family while on a budget. The beds were a little too hard for my taste, the breakfast only served bagels, muffins & waffles; Which was fine for me. The shower felt like it was going to cave in. The hotel definitely needs updating, but for the price I paid I cant complain too much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicanWife9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Let me begin with, I did not have any grandiose ideas of what to expect during my stay. It IS a La Quinta on I95. I was traveling for business and it was the only lodging available in the Stamford area. I booked a non-smoking room but was told when checking I should have never been allowed to book the room type. We could not stay in a smoking room due to my colleagues allergies. Rooms were at a minimum and we were sharing. We began calling other properties not caring about price at this point. The front desk was great when she heard this and we somehow were given a non-smoking room. We ewre very grateful for this until we walked into the room. Tt smelled of wet dog and felt dirty. Wht could we do there were not any other options.

In the morning I could not even shower the shower curtain was so digusting. Moldy, wet and stuck together from a previous guests shower.

The only reason i gave this property 2 stars is because of how nice the front desk staff was when they heard of our predicament.

Room Tip: Ask for parking lot side the other side abutts 95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vtstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

As a very longtime La Quinta customer, I was somewhat disappointed with this property. Upon our arrival, there were several people standing around the parking lot who were obviously not supposed to be there, as evidenced by their quick departure on foot when the local PD pulled up. The staff were courteous and helpful. Handicapped access is not particularly good. The elevators are up a half-flight of stairs, necessitating use of a chair lift in a claustrophobic former closet. The room was not up to La Quinta's usual cleanliness standards. This was perhaps one of the biggest surprises. We will probably consider other accommodations when travelling the I-95 corridor next time. We recognize that this is a converted hotel from some other chain, as opposed to a ground up La Quinta, which answers the architectural challenges. The cleanliness and security issues, however, are under the control of the management of this property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlon_and_Rae_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#3 of 14 in Stamford
398 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
1.8 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#8 of 14 in Stamford
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Stamford / New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Stamford / New York City

Address: 135 Harvard Ave, Stamford, CT 06902-6304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: $86 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Stamford / New York City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Stamford / New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Stamford
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford
La Quinta Hotel Stamford
Stamford La Quinta
La Quinta Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing