We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
26
50
36
20
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
50
36
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bit dated free parking juice and coffee water pressure comfy bed into nyc would stay again nice breakfast walking distance carbs microwave printer mall
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 140 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2018

The area is not great in terms of safety, although it is rather close to downtown. The front desk is not very helpful. There's no one there ever. And the only woman that appears once in a while has no idea what's going on around her.

Also, the shower didn't work properly, going from boiling to freezing every few seconds.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Merycu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

Convenient to Greenwich, this hotel is clean and comfortable. Good price for the area. Fitness center is good, and has free parking. Computer and printer available. Breakfast is carbs and fruit. No yogurt, eggs, or protein, but the apples were very good. Will stay again!

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Britt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasGray-Manager, Manager at Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Dear Britt
Thank you so much for the nice review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We took note of your comment on yogurt and now offer this. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thanks
Douglas R Gray
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017

Stayed here for 10 days in April. Loved the decor as its very European, Room has enough space and was cleaned everyday, Staff is friendly and always greets you with smile.

Breakfast: Very disappointing breakfast, ok if you are staying for couple of days but they provide same supermarket bought stuff everyday. You get bored eating all the muffins and sugary stuff everyday for 10 days. That's something Hotel can work on, providing fresh breakfast rather than tons of sugar.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jugsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasGray-Manager, Manager at Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

We are pleased you liked our hotel, but sorry you were not too happy with the breakfast. But thank you for the review as appreciate the fact you took the time.

We hope to see you back
Douglas R Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Great value for this location. European style hotel with neighborhood restaurants nearby. Lots of free parking, nice breakfast, friendly staff. Room was quiet and bed comfortable. Walked by a Japanese restaurant and a Mexican restaurant on the way to the Peruvian cuisine we choose. Other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeffh92017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasGray-Manager, Manager at Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Dear Jeff
Thank you for the nice review and we are pleased you enjoyed the say with us and your breakfast. As you would have realised, we are very close to downtown Stamford so the Mall, restaurants and Bars are all in easy walking distance.
Thanks again
Douglas R Gray
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Spent the night here as much cheaper than staying in Manhattan, hotel clean ,bit dated but v large room and comfy bed, no issues would
def recommend it . I didnt bother with the breakfast in the morning cos knew it wouldnt be all that but the elm diner is 5 mins walk and they serve great breakfasts so was v happy with stay. Door to door 60 mins on the express into Penn Station, no brainer

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasGray-Manager, Manager at Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Ben
Thank you for posting this review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we are definitely close to down down Stamford offering a variety of restaurants and diners. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews