We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam Exceeded!”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amsterdam Exceeded!”
Reviewed April 18, 2006

I had arrived fairly late to check in, almost around 10PM but the front desk clerk was kind and gave me a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room (which normally sells for almost #300), which was a kind gesture since I was only paying (#110). The room was HUGE and although it overlooked the Taco Bell across the street, I reminded myself that I was not paying full rate. I think I would have been upset if I had. This hotel was also going through what seemed to be some repainting and perhaps remodelling. All the staff were kind, including the houskeeper who came by. I even got a late check out which helped since I had arrived late and gave me time to relax in the room. Although the hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast & internet I did not take full advantage of either however I would, if I were in the neighborhood again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    44
    32
    18
    7
See reviews for
28
30
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 16, 2006

We enjoyed our stay over New Year's at the hotel very much. Our room was clean and neat, and the housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful and eager to answer questions and fulfill requests. The front desk staff was helpful and acted very promptly on a medical emergency we had while we were there. We liked our room...very nice, with a good view of the water. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2005

I agree with the gentleman from the UK. The Amsterdam Hotel is priced lower than other hotels in Stamford, so if you're looking for an affordable place, this is it. The lobby is nicely decorated and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast area is a cramped room and in addition to the aforementioned Dunkin Donuts, there was cold cereal and coffee. The rooms are clean, although the deocrations and lighting is a bit outdated. My room had a fridge and microwave. Although you can't walk into downtown like if you stayed at the Courtyard, its in a fine area with free parking.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CateRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 18, 2005

We stayed 1 nt at the Rodeway Inn in Stamford (April 2005) and were pleasantly surprised with the Hotel. We chose it as it was a good price for a central Stamford Hotel, everywhere else was twice the price.

The internet pics and description really didnt do it justice. The room was a very good size, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was very good and modern. The reception was nice and bright and right near the outdoor carpark which was handy. The staff were very friendly too.

The hotel also served breakfast included! Hot coffee, cereal, juice and Dunkin Donuts! This is generous given that not many other hotels do this.

The hotel is a bit tired looking, old lift and old looking fittings but it didnt detract from a good value stay.





Note: If you are driving from the East on the Interstate you will see it to your right as you approach Stamford, get off the next junction and do a few rights, its easy.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#4 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stamford Suites
Stamford Suites
#9 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 19 Clarks Hill Ave, Stamford, CT 06902-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome... Our tastefully decorated European style hotel is located in downtown Stamford, CT. It is just off the I-95 and close to Stamford train station. We are just a short train journey to New York City providing an ideal cost effective base for either business or pleasure trips. Our guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and come with cable TV, mini-fridges, microwaves and coffee makers. The hotel also offers free wifi throughout, complimentary continental breakfast and a fitness center. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service, which is available for guests making journeys in and around Stamford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing