We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Amsterdam Hotel the first night of our motorcycle trip on the way to Florida. The Amsterdam had an attractive price at less than $100, was pet friendly and the reviews were ok. We found the hotel to be a bit run down but the staff was friendly. The parking garage is a plus and the close proximity of a convenience store is a plus as well. Our room was a good size with an easy chair. The bed unfortunately had a dirty mattress with stains and the pillows were flat. The walls are very thin. We could hear the conversation of the gentleman next door on his phone. The TV is old and needs updating. The hotel charges an extra $20 a night for a pet which is absurd for a dog that is less than 15 pounds. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    32
    18
    7
See reviews for
28
30
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Paid total of $230 for one night. Certainly overpriced, granted there were no other rooms available in Stamford that night. If I had paid less than $100 I would be less disappointed. Bed was hard and like sleeping on plastic, blankets thin, finger marks all over walls and you can hear straight through the walls. It's the standard I would expect from a motel/inn. Staff was pleasant, but no interest in how my stay was. Free continental breakfast and wifi a plus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sho G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stamford hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Price was the main reason for choosing the Amsterdam. Room was very basic, but clean. Fridge/microwave was nice. Convenience store, pizza place, and deli all close. Not a a 5 star hotel by any means, but nicer than one would expect based on the price. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scox64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel for under $100/night, and great staff. Clean, comfortable, and I was glad they have a parking garage. I came earlier than check-in time, and the receptionist made sure my room was ready within 20 mins. To the previous guests who complained about minimal toiletries and continental breakfast...hey this isn't a 5 star hotel. You get why you paid for, and I think for the value the hotel is great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmoha523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, NY
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed here Sept. 2012 and highly recommend this hotel for people who want to be in a downtown location. This is a good spot located a short walking distance to fine dining, morning coffee and breakfast diners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel does not look flash on the outside, however the stay was great. Very good reception and we were offered the very reasonable Sunday night off peak tarrif without having to haggle. Very nice and helpful chap at reception. we were able to inspect our room before committing to taking it. The room was large, cean, tidy and the bed was very comfortable. We had a lovely stay. Breakfast was ample and fresh. Carparking was free and under security camera surveliance at reception. Would certainly stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you are in doubt from the outside appearance, please just ask to view the rooms. They are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4myxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed here at the Amsterdam Hotel for four days at the beginning of July. The weather was beastly hot, as were certain parts of the room. The wall air unit blew across the head of the bed so the top of my body was cool but the rest of the room maintained a temperature about 20 degrees hotter. The windows open part way, but I was a bit leery of them because they weren't really sealed into the window frame and I thought perhaps the glass window might fall out of the frame and crash into the parking lot below.

The Amsterdam is old and worn but clean and efficient. There are two elevators, one of which worked on and off during my stay. The breakfast room is nice. The lobby is open and airy. The shuttle service is handy. There are no restaurants in the immediate area other than fast food, but if you are up for a walk, you can get to the main part of the city within 10 mins. Enterprise rental cars are right next door so the hotel is quite handy to car rentals and Taco Bell and Walgreens. There isn't much in the immediate surrounds other than Ma and Pa convience stores and one off ethnic restaurants (peruvian, mexican, domincan) that didn't appear to be open when I was there.

The room had a microwave AND a fridge, both of which I needed/wanted in a hotel room. I would really have enjoyed a toaster and my room would have been complete. The room was not large, but it came but with the amenities needed to have a nuclear late night dinner or snack; a place to keep water and snacks cold, and a microwave to warm up what I wanted warm.

Don't look for luxury here, but it IS a clean, extended stay convenience hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciarrasbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#4 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stamford Suites
Stamford Suites
#9 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 19 Clarks Hill Ave, Stamford, CT 06902-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome... Our tastefully decorated European style hotel is located in downtown Stamford, CT. It is just off the I-95 and close to Stamford train station. We are just a short train journey to New York City providing an ideal cost effective base for either business or pleasure trips. Our guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and come with cable TV, mini-fridges, microwaves and coffee makers. The hotel also offers free wifi throughout, complimentary continental breakfast and a fitness center. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service, which is available for guests making journeys in and around Stamford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing