We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family had a wonderful experience”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We visited Amsterdam Hotel this weekend and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were beautiful, clean and their service was always with a smile. When we searched for hotels, the representative on the phone was very patient, helpful and pleasant. He absolutely made our decision for choosing this hotel over others. and we're glad we did! the kids had a great time, and they let us use the coffee room for our parties. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieeinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 128 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2011

This is a very good hotel for the price charged. We were there for 8 days just after the February snowstorms and the service was very good. Big rooms, very clean with fluffy clean towels each day. Good heating in rooms though breakfast room was cold. Rooms have fridge and microwave, free internet good breakfast.
Location is convenient especially for Enterprise car rental, shops and good Italian restaurant and so so Chinese take out.
My third time to stay there and I will be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Hotel was very nice, very accommodating with very sizable rooms, comfortable beds, large work desk and a sitting area. Nice size TV with a very large assortment of channels, local, cable and HD stations, along with an attached DVD player. Breakfast was the typical Continental breakfast with an on-hand hostess that kept all items replenished. Ample free parking available, both outside and in the garage. Guest-use computer in the lobby along with wireless in the rooms. Since I was there just for one night, I didn't get to go to any area restaurants, but the front desk did advise me of several in the nearby area. Will definitely make it one of my choices next time I have to do some work in the Stamford or surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fieldteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Outdated standard-hotel with formal staff. But a good choice if you want to go to New York by train and drop of your rental car here. Our room type : 1 king-size bed and 1 play pen (without surcharge). Breakfast : croissants, muffins, donuts, toast, cornflakes, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and orange juice. The breakfast corner is not really cosy, but the food is ok. Places to eat nearby : there’s a shopping mall with restaurants close by. Parking space : enough, without surcharge. Computer : PC with free internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zappatozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

My friends and I rented a room for one night as we were came in from Hartford for a night out. The man at the front desk was extremely rude to us as we had only specified 2 people and were bringing 4. He charged us 2 extra person fees and showed very poor customer service the whole time. I've stayed at dozens of hotels where my "hotel search" indicates 2 people and we squeeze 6 in there without any grief from the staff. If you do have to say here, make sure you search with the right number of people, or make sure they don't notice you have more.

The hotel feels old the moment you walk inside. The elevator scared us everytime we stepped in it. The floor buttons looked like they were covered in white paint or something. The beds and pillows were horrible. There is no view whatsoever, just some old junked up lot. The towels were hard, the creature comforts like soaps and shampoos were low-grade. No lock on the bathroom door. C'mon, splurge a little bit for your guests.

All of us woke up feeling congested and sick from what we guessed were dirty air vents and a/c units.

There is a holiday inn right across the street that I'm sure would be a better choice. We felt this hotel cut corners to save money but they lost us as customers forever. I don't think I saw one smile out of any of the staff members the entire time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agferna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed for one night while travelling. Most important for us is to have a clean room, bed and shower. The hotel absolutely met this criteria and there's nothing I could complain. Also the breakfast was quite good and with a good choice; for those who don't like that: there's a Taco Bell at the next corner.
The location of the hotel is good, I think this is Stamford's business district; its close to the interstate, so you can easily reach the hotel, however there was no real noice from traffic etc.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rukola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Room was good. Beds were comfortable. They had a breakfast the next morning. It was a nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
691 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#4 of 14 in Stamford
377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Address: 19 Clarks Hill Ave, Stamford, CT 06902-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: $98 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome... Our tastefully decorated European style hotel is located in downtown Stamford, CT. It is just off the I-95 and close to Stamford train station. We are just a short train journey to New York City providing an ideal cost effective base for either business or pleasure trips. Our guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and come with cable TV, mini-fridges, microwaves and coffee makers. The hotel also offers free wifi throughout, complimentary continental breakfast and a fitness center. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service, which is available for guests making journeys in and around Stamford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing