We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a facelift II”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Needs a facelift II”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'm going to have to agree with the review from Booll "Rooms need a facelift". I guess I got that same room! Was at this hotel this weekend and out tub didn't drain either so we had to shower in a pool of dirty water. When it finally drained it left the tub dirty and unable to clean. The wall paper in our room had stains on it and the ceiling were peeling from what looked like possible water damage. I gave it a higher rating because overall It's still is a nice hotel. Strange that no one has fixed the problem with that tub as I'm sure we had that same room. My other problem this time around was the lack of service in the bar area. We sat down to have a drink but the bartender didn't acknowledge us or the other people who came it after us. At that point it was obvious that the only way to get service was to go up to the bar and get our own drinks. I go to this hotel a lot and I mostly use hotwire, I'm wondering if the other reviewer used them as well. I think people who book through hotwire sometimes get lower service. Once when we checked in we were told since we booked with hotwire they refused to give us a King bed room, my husband and I had to take a rooms with double beds. She said we could get a king if we paid extra for it. Now we get a room they know has a bad tub. There's no way the housekeeper doesn't know about that tub, plus someone else had the same problem and it wasn't fixed and given to someone else to use. That is poor customer service on the hotels part, but overall it's still a good hotel but I hope they fix the problems before my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and to share comments on your recent stay. We are sincerely sorry that this visit did not match previous stays in several areas. Please know that the method a guest uses to book their stay does not in any way impact the service they receive. Our guests are encouraged to reach out if there is anything we can do to improve their experience and we regret that we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns when it would have mattered most. We greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts and hope that we can impress you in every way on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    301
    226
    147
    107
See reviews for
236
188
83
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a standard large Hilton hotel. A modern flared decor. If you can use the Executive Lounge, it is really worth it. The rooms are clean, sufficient and roomy. It is also very easy to get into New York City either by car or by train since it is very close to the train station (walkable) and it is right off I-95 highway. I gave this an excellent because the value that we paid. Do keep in mind that it is sufficient, clean and standard, however, may not be considered as a romantic getaway, and such. It is a safe choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaChane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
It’s great to hear from our guests and learn that our convenient location and spacious rooms fully met their needs. The Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center’s location provides, by way of the Stamford North-Metro Railroad station, easy access to Boston and New York City for our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and considered our hotel to be a great value. The next time you are in the area we hope that you will allow us to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night while on business in Stamford. I arrived by train and a shuttle picked me up promptly. At the desk, the staff was very friendly and checked me in quickly and informed me of the Manager’s reception for Hilton Honor members. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. I had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was a decent meal and very satisfactory. I would definitely go back if I am in Stamford.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valiant10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center for your recent stay in the area for business. We’re pleased that you found the bed in your room to be comfortable, our staff friendly and that you enjoyed your meal at Senses. All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My friend and I had such a wonderful experience at the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, because of the spectacular service...especially the restaurant service where we had the honor of being served by a very attentive as well as attractive waitress, Millie. Thereby having such a nice warm restaurant experience at the Hilton...two words will be imprinted in my mind "Forever Millie".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Senses Restaurant and Lounge at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center features creative American cuisine and is the perfect spot for casual dining with friends. We cannot thank you enough for sharing your review and gracious praise for our hotel staff and restaurant personnel, it is truly heartwarming. We will be sure to pass along your comments to everyone so that they are aware of the impact they had on your visit. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Came here for a conference. Function rooms were large & clean. Common meeting space also perfect for a large group. If you come with small kids, the pool is a little disappointing. It's very small and the hot tub was out of order. No lounge chairs outside available which would have been nice. Room very clean and comfortable-bathroom was fine too. The downtown shops are about 10 min drive from conference center, there is also a shuttle that runs on the hour. Good place to stay if you are in meetings all day; however, not a lot for a family with young kids to do at the conference center and food in restaurants as always, expensive. If you have a car it's worth it to explore the shopping area. Also went to a great breakfast spot in town The Sundance Cafe for a fabulous omlette and amazing coffee. Street parking is metered, but free on Sunday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneh236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are delighted to learn that your recent stay with us for the conference was such a great experience. Everyone at the Hilton Stamford Hotel is committed to providing our guests with incomparable service and comfort. Our hotel is as you mentioned conveniently located within minutes of exciting area attractions and shopping. We would like to apologize that the hot tub was not open at the time of your visit but we hope that next time you stay with us you will have a chance to relax and enjoy it. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Ive stayed at this hotel dozens of times over the past few years (my company has a contract with this hotel). In the past 2 or so years, it has definitely started to show signs of wear, particularly in the sleeping rooms. Cleaning and maintenance standards seem to have gone downhill significantly. On my last visit, the shower did not drain and the showerhead was floppy and would not stay in place. When I reported it, they did fix it, but the maid had not bothered to clean the bathtub scum that occurred as a result of the tub backup (ew!). Hallways are often not clean. This hotel gets a lot of business travelers and I think they could do a lot to improve the sleeping room experience and cleanliness. The restaurant is ok, but somewhat expensive. The bar is fine. The workout room could also use an update. This is a very average hotel with declining maintenance and cleanliness standards.

Room Tip: Request a room nearer the elevators to avoid a potential long trek to a room way down the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BooII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We value all feedback, positive or otherwise, and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the problem you encountered with the shower and for the housekeeping issues. Your comments will be brought to our managers’ attention so that we may continue to improve our services for our guests. Thank you for telling us about your experience, we hope that next time we can provide you with a stay that exceeds all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hilton staff is very nice and courteous .Maria is very nice and professional and make sure you are happy with your room .She recognised me from last year :)
Its a 3.5 hotel but It can be upgraded to a 4 stars .Hotel has a shuttle so you can move around stamford easily

Rooms are spacious and clean !As a hilton member , i got free breakfast and free internet

Thank u hilton to make my stay enjoyable :)

Room Tip: You can nbe hilton member and collect points so you can redeem points for a room and got free intern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karima b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
At the Hilton Stamford Hotel our guests and their needs are our number one priority. We are very happy that we could provide you with everything you needed to make your stay enjoyable, including the use of our shuttle which can be utilized by guests to visit nearby places of interest. Thank you for your praise for our staff, we will be sure to pass along your comments. We hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
670 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#2 of 14 in Stamford
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Property: Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Address: 1 Stamford Pl, Stamford, CT 06902-6718 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside of New York City -- with access to Amtrak, Metro-North and I-95 — the recently renovated Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center offers the ideal combination of convenience, comfort and courteous service. Following a multimillion-dollar renovation, our hotel boasts newly refurbished guest rooms, spacious suites, and state of the art event and meeting space. Unwind after a long work day at our restaurant and lounge, serving American cuisine and cocktails throughout the day. Or relax in our sparkling swimming pool or heated whirlpool. Surrounded by dynamic businesses and local attractions, our upscale accommodations will enhance your upcoming visit or corporate gathering. A popular choice among Stamford hotels, the Hilton is a landmark destination with easy access to both Boston and New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Stamford
Hilton Stamford Hotel And Executive Meeting Center
Hilton Hotel Stamford
Stamford Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing