We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Typical Italian Joint”
Review of Emme of Capri - CLOSED

Emme of Capri
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Darien, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Not Your Typical Italian Joint”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Delightfully diverse menu, affordable prices and (in the summer) a wonderful outdoor dining area make this one of our favorite dining spots. Very popular and strong on the European feel.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron06820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good service, food average”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Date night with the hubby, been meaning to try this place for years. Had high hopes but thought the food was not terribly inspired. Nothing bad, but nothing above average either.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rock_the_Fez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Stamford”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Our favorite Italian in the area - Masimo does it right - fresh and made to order.

Helpful?
3 Thank Wakefield04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Rushed by Staff and Poor Service”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I am not going to write an elaborate review. This was our second time and we would return, but on this occasion we felt rushed by the staff and somewhat ignored.

We made reservations and were told to be there promptly at 6:00 because they had 3 seatings that evening. We did arrive at 6:00 and they were obviously understaffed, but that aside, everytime we needed something we had to get the attention of one of the wait staff. Our waitress never came to our table to ask if we needed anything or were happy with our appetizers or meals, etc. Instead they were preoccupied with bussing and setting tables rather than tending to the patrons already seated.

All in all, we had great food in an uncomfortable situation feeling rushed and ignored.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An italian restaurant but inviting to everyone”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Emme of Capri has great service, delicious food, and an inviting atmosphere. I never looked at my phone once to check the time because the restaurant has an interesting indoor feel. The waiter helps you pronounce some of the orders so you learn while you order and offers service whenever you need it. I strongly suggest this place for a nice sit down meal.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ahostak6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing