We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
40
36
8
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
36
8
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen separate bedroom stop shop swimming pool is half mile underground parking continental breakfast room service stove furniture cleanliness nyc gym diner channels shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 104 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

The term "Suite" has been bastardized to the point where it often means one room with a "separate sitting area". Stamford Suites offers a large sitting room with a full kitchen, and a separate bedroom; the sofabed provides a second private sleeping accommodation for a family when needed.
I had not stayed here for some time, and noted newer, large TVs with lots of channels and new appliances. This is an older hotel and there are things to criticize-the bathroom is functional but small, its fan noisy, and some of the decor and furniture is tired-but if you want the space and a proper refrigerator and stove, it has what you need. The bed was comfortable, the mattress firm. Location is just north of the Stamford entertainment district (an easy walk) and the hotel runs a morning and late afternoon shuttle (which people presumably use mostly to get to the station). A decent Continental breakfast (cereal, pastries, muffins) is provided in the lobby; there is a good diner across the street.
I find this a comfortable place to stay on my now rather rare trips back East.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Imackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Dear Imackin,

Thank you for your kind words. We greatly appreciate your review here at Stamford Suites Hotel and look forward to seeing you again during your next stay.

Best,

Vincent I.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017

We stayed at this hotel based on pictures we saw on internet and reviews - apparently mostly falls- , this place is nothing like photos! front desk people were absolutely not professional, they could care less if you stay or leave, entire hotel smells like old mildew, carpets are so dirty you don't dare walking bare footed, bath room was dirty, bathtub was rusted, water pressure was absolutely near zero and toilet seat broken! no coffee machine unless you ask for one and pay $2.50 per pack of coffee, continental breakfast is a joke! few old cup cakes and some much older cereals, the janitor swept the floor then without washing hands re-arranged the cakes! no clock in the room and parking looks like flea market covered with broken furniture and fixtures some of which clearly personal stuff of the owner. for the same price you can stay in other properties near by and get much better service.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Duke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Dear Duke E.,

We are sorry to hear about your concerns with your stay. We appreciate all of guests comments and we always work hard to improve based on their suggestions.

We offer a free continental breakfast every morning as well as free parking and wifi for all of our guests. As the only all suite hotel in the Stamford Area, our rooms are all full 1 bedroom suites with full kitchens ranging from 640 to 700 sq ft per room. We are a bit taken back by some of the comments in this review as they are very much against many of the policies and conditions we keep in the hotel.

Please let us know if you are in the area again and we would love to speak to you of your concerns.

Best,

Vincent I.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017

It was more of an extended stay type of place which i was unaware of. My room was VERY outdated - to the point where the couch was stained and i didn't want to sit on it. The dishes wouldn't get clean (no matter how hard i scrubbed - WITH MY OWN soap because it was not provided). the carpet was smelly. it was just a very old room. Plus the walls are thin and i heard the family next to me every day. I could smell everything walking down the hall - everyone cooking. My apartment building doesn't even smell this way! Maybe I just wasn't prepared for this kind of experience, but the room made me feel like i was staying in a place where horror movies are filmed. Maybe it's a bit dramatic - but truly how i felt.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adubs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordmanager, Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Dear Adubs22,

Thank you for staying at Stamford Suites hotel and we greatly appreciate your comments. We are always looking to improve on our guest's experiences with their feedback.

As the only all suite hotel in the Stamford area with a full kitchen, our guests appreciate the comforts of home which we offer. Our kitchen is fully stocked with the necessary materials needed to cook a dinner at home and our housekeeping service will take care of any dishes left in the sink.

We hope that you will give us a second chance if you are in the area again and please reach out to us if you are in the area again.

Best,

Vincent I.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017

I stayed at Stamford Suites while on a business trip to the US. At the outset, let me tell you that this is not a place with a lot of facilities that one would generally expect from a hotel. In the sense, it does not have an on-premise restaurant or a Gym or a swimming pool. The breakfast that they offer is really nothing but a few muffins, croissant, cereal and coffee. Nothing much to talk about really. And yet, I must say that I found this place satisfactory and here's why. The apartments are really spacious and are fully equipped. A large living room with an LCD TV, bedroom also has an LCD TV, the bed is pretty comfortable and the bathroom comes with a bathtub. They have complimentary wi-fi as well. Most importantly, they have a fully functional kitchen, complete with a stove, oven, microwave, a large fridge and all the cutlery and utensils that you would need. This is really helpful in case you plan to stay for a week or more, as was my case. The hotel is hardly half a mile away from many restaurants and bars; and if the weather doesn't permit you to walk this distance, then there are many restaurants who deliver right to your apartment. You already have all the cutlery required in your apartment for a nice a meal at home. Next the hotel has an in-house complimentary taxi service which can drop you to the local supermarket i.e Stop & Shop. Once you are done, you can call the hotel and they will pick you up and get you back. Next the complimentary cab service will drop you to your place of work in the morning and then pick you up in the evening. This is quite convenient indeed, in case you do not have a car. The hotel has a launderette in the basement, which again is helpful for long stays. And finally parking is readily available in the hotel premises. In case you are looking for a featured hotel with restaurant, full hot breakfast, room service, spa etc then this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a fully equipped apartment for a medium to long stay with a complimentary cab service, launderette and if you prefer to order food at home and eat while watching TV or working, then this is indeed the place for you. Last but not the least, they do have a tie-up with a local club for Gym and Swimming Pool. But this is not on-premises and is about half a mile away. I did not use this, but those who need it have this as an option.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank TheTravelChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordmanager, Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and we greatly appreciate the comments you have left for us. We pride ourselves on the size of our rooms and we do specialize in long term stay guest.

Please let us know when you will be in Stamford as we would greatly welcome your business again.

Best,

Vincent I.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017

Went for anniversary. Satisfied with hotel. It's oddly placed but near a great restaurant row. Look for specials here as you can often get 20% or more off. Great rooms for the price. Helpful staff. Given the neighborhood, you worry about your car if it's parked outside, but there is somewhat inconvenient underground parking. Lack of informational guides cost them a couple points. They have a lot more info on NYC than Stamford. Loud party until 4 a.m. first night was ignored by staff. They must have known, but denied it. Very good breakfast. Wish travelocity allowed 3.5 ratings.

Room Tip: Looking at other reviews and my experience, hotel is known as place where hoodlums can party all night without staff interference.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamfordmanager, Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review our of hotel and your comments. We welcome all comments concerning our performance as we strive to always provide the best service possible.

We apologize for any disturbances you might have experienced during your stay here. Stamford Suites Hotel has a strict no party policy and our Front Desk Agent on staff that night should have corrected any situation that came up. We are sorry that such incident was not fixed during your stay.

Please let us know when you are in Stamford next as we would greatly appreciate the chance to have your business again.

Best,

Vincent I.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews