We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great hotel, excellent location, walking distance to area mall, shoppes, and restaurants. Enjoyed the lobby bar. Breakfast was ok, and very expensive, was very disappointed, you're better off walking down the street to grab something. Other than that it was a pleasant stay, comfy beds, sleek hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prinxess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for your review. We do apologize that you were disappointed with the breakfast selection. The Food and Beverage team has already planned a menu change for the near future. We are pleased that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Stamford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 524 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Was looking for a place to stay overnight (prior to a tour of Philip Johnson's Glass House in New Canaan and Stamford was the closest and actually less that 15 minutes away! The hotel has been newly renovated and in shines. I especially liked the choice of take-out café, dining in the lobby or room service. Really appreciated the free wifi in the room. Check in was quick and smooth. The room like the lobby was renovated and they really have done a great job with the décor. It was modern, but not sterile and very comfortable.

I also like that I was asked if I would like to be near or far away from the elevator. I chose far away (less noise) and was given room 840. It was so quiet. Which was amazing considering the hotel was very full. Between the great bed and the quiet room had a great night's sleep.

Room Tip: Room 840 was good for me.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbenjamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We are so pleased that our team was polite and friendly, and that the room was quiet and comfortable! Thank you for the compliments on our recent renovation. Upgrades are never complete however, and the property is always looking for and making improvements. Some upcoming include lighting in the parking garage, and an improved entrance experience from that area. We look forward to your next visit when you can see these improvements as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding on premises and the stay was commensurate with my previous Sheraton experiences. I have also stayed at the Stamford Marriott around the corner on a previous occasion and would rate the Sheraton a step above based upon my experiences at both locations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind review and recommendation! We are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations on this visit, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent one night at this hotel for a wedding in the area. It's centrally located (Stamford isn't that big!), but getting to the actual parking area is a bit confusing with all of the one-way streets. There's a sign at the corner of Broad & Elm St, so look for that and follow the arrows.

The staff was nice (although the second staff member who wasn't checking anyone in was oblivious to me standing there - seemed busy on her phone) and quick. The entire lobby area smells wonderful!

The room is spacious. A few minor quibbles:
- the bathroom is modern and equipped with a rain shower, which is great! However, for some reason the shower is only 3/4 enclosed, so a lot of water can and does get out of the stall. Just put a towel down and you're good.
- the in-room coffee was passed it's expiration date. I don't really care about things like that, and drank it anyway. However, more "discriminating" guests might balk.

The big plus is this: the bed is one of the best beds my wife and I have ever slept on. Maybe we were just exhausted, but we had a great night sleep.

Parking is about $10/night with in and out privileges. We ended up paying about $75 through hotwire.

We were there for only a quick trip, so we didn't make use of the fitness center, pool or restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridge86er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your review! We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests. We are very pleased that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable, and that our team was friendly. We apologize for the attentiveness issue you encountered, and have brought it to the Front Office team for suggestions and improvement. Our deepest apologies that the amenities in your room were not current. These are checked daily as part of our Housekeeping department's routine. This was brought to that team's attention, and a complete re-check of items is under way. Thank you for bringing this to our attention! We hope that if your travels bring you into the area again, you will stay with us and see the improvements you have helped to initiate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I were impressed with our stay. Spacious, comfortable rooms and a very convenient location. We took advantage of their breakfast in bed service, which was tasty and was delivered promptly right when we requested. Other plusses included a very comfortable bed and no noise from either outside or from other rooms. Their front desk attendants are amazing. They made both check in and check out extremely simple. The few cons of the hotel are fairly minor: the parking garage is extremely narrow and harrowing to drive though and the rooms all feature a glowing digital panel for the thermostat that bathed the room in light. While we dampened the light by throwing a shirt over the panel, this may be irksome for people who need total darkness to sleep in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy the breakfast, and that the room was comfortable. We shared your comments with the Front Office team, who were very pleased. The parking garage for the property is undergoing several upgrades, although changing the driving pattern is not planned. Improved lighting, and better elevator landings and service are expected. The thermostat light is capable of being dimmed, and we have asked our Engineering team supply the directions on how to accomplish this to our Front Office team so they can easily guide a guest through the process. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hotel is newly renovated; room is new; a bit more toiletries (e.g., mouth wash, shower cap); nice front desk, overall great experience.

This is obviously a better of the sheratons that I have stayed at. I did not expect a more than average experience but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel locates right in the center of stamford, so it's a very nice location. Front desk was very nice and suggested to park in the garage. I was given free parking being a gold spg member and higher floors.

Room is very nice for a Sheraton. My room had shower only which I find better/newer than the show/tub combinations. Toiletries were more than the regulars I found in va/md, which has shower cap, shave cream and mouth wash. These nice little touches definitely add to the experience.

I want to mention that the bed is very, very comfortable. They are new but the linens are soft, not like some of the new linens I experienced in other Sheraton/westins which feels like plastic.
I had a very, very nice sleep, recovered from a long month of tiredness for just ~7 hours of sleep. Couldn't get better than this.

Hit NYC the next day (booked last minute flight from HPN), was able to get there in 30 minutes.

Overall a level up of the experiences that I had than those "regular sheratons"

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbertgzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that your stay was comfortable and more importantly restful! We are so happy that you enjoyed the added amenities as well. Our location is very good, and with the improvement in weather it is now easier than ever to walk around the Stamford town area. Our shuttle is also available within a 5 mile radius. We delight in exceeding our guest’s expectations, and we are so pleased that we were able to do that for you! We look forward to your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel exceeded all my expectations. Especially the hotel staff is extremely attentive and responsive to my needs. The hotel is conveniently located near downtown, within walking distance from restaurants, shopping and downtown sightseeings. Besides that, it has a shuttle that takes you around withing 5 miles radius. The rooms are spotless clean, and the bed is super comfortable. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EURESES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review and recommendation! We are so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations! This is what our team strives for. We look forward to welcoming you back for your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.3 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
686 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stamford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Address: 700 Main St, Stamford, CT 06901-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stamford
#4 Business Hotel in Stamford
#5 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range: $145 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Stamford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Stamford Hotel is located near many corporate offices and the Town Center Mall. We are 20 minutes from the Westchester County Airport and less than a mile from the Metro North line to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton Stamford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stamford
Stamford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing