We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the last time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The last time I stayed in this hotel was in 2007 and a lot has changed since then. First off the hotel seems much more luxurious than it was then. As well it also seems to have better dining facilities and better amenities.

I remember last time that the rooms were quite large and they still are. I got a room with one king bed. I was there as part of a convention and was not dissappointed with this room yet again.

The location of the hotel was great. It was just a few minutes to both the mall and the train station. The mall has also gotten significantly better from when I was there last as well.

There were a few things that i personally thought could be better, but these are fairly minor.

-It seems that more and more hotels group the sports channels together on tv. Once I get through them the channel slection was pretty good. I did miss not having HBO though. Also the colour on some of the channels was a little off.
-The bathroom was a decent size but had a shower only and the glass only covered half of it. if you stood under the water stream it sprayed in all directions but when you moved to the part with no door then you got cold really fast. I have no problem with shower only, I just think that it should be completely enclosed.
-The lighting in the hallway remains on at all times, as it should. However, there is light coloured tile on the floor as you first walk in and that just takes the light and makes it spread. It was the same for the light under the door that connects to the next room. In order to get the room 100% dark, i had to put towels on the floor to block the light.

The rooms were quiet, I couldnt hear either neighbour, the elevators were plenty and fast enough, the food was okay, though I dont know if the buffet is worth the price that they ask for it.

All in all I would say that I do like it here and will stay again. I would also like to make use of the pool next time.

Room Tip: Rooms near lower floors that look onto the street are a little noisier.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshintuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your review! We have changed a lot since 2007, with a $26 million renovation to our rooms, lobby, meeting areas, and those elevators you mention! And we continue to fine tune the details- which your review certainly helps us with! We have brought your issues to the attention of our Engineering and Housekeeping departments for suggestions on how we may improve the items you noted on your room and bath. We are also working on the quality and service provided in the restaurant, and have brought those comments to our Food and Beverage department. We are very pleased that you will stay again, and hope that you will enjoy more improvements when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Stamford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 524 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

I didn't realize how close this was to NYC. Went with my wife to a Pez convention and stayed for two nights. King size bed for one of the most comfortable I've slept on. Hated coming home to our worn mattress. Shower did not have a door? But great location to restaurants and train station. Hour train ride puts you at Yankee Stadium :).

Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimpritchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We are so pleased you had a comfortable night on our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed! Our complimentary shuttle service will take you to local restaurants, and to the train so you can get to Grand Central, the stadium and beyond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent staff ... Huge new rooms .... Clean, fabulous amenities ... A quick walk from the train and an awesome club room .... Comfy king bed and big big big steam shower ...One of the best values around ....

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquibr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our Executive Level! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had a really great experience at the Sheraton. The hotel staff was very accommodating, pleasant and professional. I enjoyed their "social hour" in which you partake in a wine tasting. The wines were rated 90+. Very close to the Stamford Town Center (mall) and with complimentary shuttle to the Metro North for quick access into NYC.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a King "accessible" room. You'll get a really large bath w...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank La Nita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Social Hour in the Lobby Lounge! We are also currently featuring Jazz saxophonist David Davis on Wednesdays for the Social Hour, and reviewing special hor dourves to pair with the particular wines being featured. The hotel now features three shuttles that travel within a 5 mile radius of the property, offering complimentary transportation to Stamford Town Center, the Metro North station in Stamford for that quick 30 minute train to Grand Central, and to several key corporate offices throughout the Stamford area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

we luv this hotel! great service, parking and a shuttle to take us around. rashid helped us with our bags and also told us about different places to dine. the club lounge is excellent and has a great staff. its right in downtown perfect access to different places. parking is very reasonable. the rooms have a great view, refrigerator and very clean.

Thank Arch L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our team knowledgeable about the area. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Clean, quality service, perfect location and great value.

We stayed at Sheraton Stamford just fir one night but the front desk staff was helpful and kind, rooms were clean and location was in the middle of everything.

Our dog Chester enjoyed it too.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpeedyGonzales27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations on your trip. We look very forward to having you (and Chester) visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and found the accommodations acceptable.

The lobby included a well-lit atrium with comfortable seating that was well-spaced and invited guests to chat and socialize. There were several computers with free internet access, and the wireless signal for laptop users was strong. Internet was free in the lobby but limited to two hours, and available for a charge in the guestrooms.

The beds were very comfortable with fantastic pillows, but the beds were on elevated platforms and higher than than usual. Water pressure was great but my room was on the third floor of the hotel.

The hotel was walking distance to Stamford Town Center and also a little downtown area. I stayed mostly in the hotel because of the conference, though, and didn't have time to explore the area. For a reasonable price, this would be a nice place to stay overnight if passing through the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otsumami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy the Link powered by Microsoft, and that your accommodations were comfortable. You are correct that there are many things to do in the Stamford area if you have the time to explore, or the Metro North rail will take you to Grand Central in NYC in 30 minutes. Please don’t hesitate to ask for suggestions on your next stay- our Front Office team would be happy to tell you some of their favorite spots to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.3 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
686 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stamford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Address: 700 Main St, Stamford, CT 06901-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stamford
#4 Business Hotel in Stamford
#5 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range: $145 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Stamford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Stamford Hotel is located near many corporate offices and the Town Center Mall. We are 20 minutes from the Westchester County Airport and less than a mile from the Metro North line to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton Stamford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stamford
Stamford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing