We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
South Shore of Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed at the Sheraton Stamford for an overnight on our way into NYC. The Hotel was easy to get to (I love being able to see the red S from the highway), check in and parking were pleasant and efficient. Great beds and the room was fine. We were traveling with our dog , the staff couldn't have been nicer and they didn't have an extra fee for the dog. I always look forward to the Sheraton breakfast and this one was great-fresh fruit, juice and tasty coffee. Thanks for a safe and quiet night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quicktrip27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendation of our property. We are always delighted to hear of such wonderful experiences and you touched upon many of our key features. It is our goal to make your stay as exceptional as possible, and of course that also includes pets as part of the family. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy our full buffet breakfast during your stay and that it lived up to your expectations of a delicious Sheraton breakfast. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have you with us again sometime soon.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    163
    50
    16
    10
See reviews for
97
65
22
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Sheraton to attend family affair and I did not expect anything special but I was more than pleasantly surprised! Not by convenient location, not by the decor but the fantastic staff. As soon as we walked in the front desk staff made us feel at home away from home. Both girls at the front desk (sorry, forgot their names) were amazing, smiling the whole time and really sincere and genuine. The front desk manager (again, forgot the name but she was blond) was absolute pleasure to talk to and she accommodated our every request and wish (she was from Europe and mentioned there is a Sheraton in Prague - that's our next vacation destination). The lounge attendant was attentive and very pleasant too. Even the housekeepers were pleasant, said good morning every time. As the food was average (not bad but nothing special), every staff member made our experience memorable. If we are around in Stamford area next time, this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
It is always our goal to exceed our guests' expectations, and we are happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by our property. We appreciate your kind words about our front office staff, and we will be sure to pass this along to Linda (our front office manager) and the rest of the team. From our room attendants all the way to banquets it seems you were able to encounter much of our team and it is wonderful to hear that you were consistently met with a warm welcome. Thank you for your review, and we do hope you are able to join us again in the future.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great place with good service. The shuttle service is great but ends at 11pm. They do have a car service availible. Not sure of the cost. The room was clean and had a coffee pot, which is a must have for me. I wake up very early and the Star Bucks is closed down stairs.
I loved the King size bed but for an elderly person it could pose a problem. The bed height was very high off the ground... I know my Mother would have a difficult time with it. I gave four stars and that is being generous for me.

Room Tip: May want to check the bed height????
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, and we are happy to hear that you had a great stay. As you mention we do provide a complimentary shuttle throughout all points in Stamford running from 7AM-11PM.

Our plush bedding along with our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper mattresses do have a tall stance. We have accommodated all of our ADA Accessible rooms with lowered bed frames which anyone in need of assistance can request.

We appreciate your review of your stay, and hope that you are able to stay with us again should you be passing through Stamford.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel was absolutely fantastic. It was a pleasure to have such a nice room and lovely service attendants that were accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. The rooms were impeccably clean with very, very comfortable beds. This would be a great hotel for business, leisure or romantic visits. A pleasant surprise. The only minor thing, and I'm not sure if it's a common thing or not, but the A/C was significantly louder than usual. All in all a very positive experience. Would hands down recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We are pleased to hear your trip to our property was fantastic, and we certainly appreciate your recommendation. Providing the best guest service is our priority, and along with the hotel's cleanliness and amenities, it is wonderful knowing this is recognized and that you were able to experience all that we have to offer. Our apologies for the noise from your air conditioning unit. Our engineering team is ready and able to remedy any situation you might encounter so please never hesitate to contact us with an issue. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have you back with us again in the future.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This past labor day weekend my family (with two small children) stayed at this hotel as part of free-night offering from hotel.com. Although I did not book the hotel via SPG or Sheraton directly but we received the same level of quality service that we always received as SPG member. The check-in was smooth, the lady works at front desk was very friendly. She book us with a standard room on the higher floor (8th, not sure it's the SPG club floor but since the top floor is the 9th I assume it is.) The room is clean and modern. Beds are so comfortable that my two kids slept until 11am next morning! As SPG gold member, I was offered with either receiving 250 bonus points or a free drink, I took the points without hesitation. Hotel even provided voucher for parking which is a nice touch. Nothing negative with our short stay - the checkout using TV was not working for some reason but it's not a big deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digihank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy Labor Day with your family at our hotel: thank you for your review. It is important that you are recognized for your SPG Gold status and we make sure that our SPG guests are shown the extra value in the program. It is wonderful that you fully enjoyed your room and your children had such a great night's rest! Thank you again for your review, and should you be traveling through Stamford in the future we hope to have you with us again.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The front staff at this Sheraton is very welcoming and sincere in their efforts to make your stay there as enjoyable as possible. Do yourself a favor and enlist in their Starwood Preferred Guest program. We were upgraded to Club level and the lounge there is very nice with great wines! They are offering a Summer of 90 pt plus wines and had a nice collection to offer. The bedding was very comfortable, bathroom was clean, location is great. The downstairs lobby is very comfortable as is the bar. In house catering (was there for a wedding) left a lot to be desired. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Club level was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, and we are happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised. It is fantastic to her the service provided met your expectations and that the property, from the guestrooms to both lounges, were enjoyable as well. We do apologize that you found the food at the event held here did not meet your expectations. We consistently receive rave reviews about our catering offerings and assure you this is not the norm. Thank you again for your review, and should you make your way to Stamford again we hope to have you with us.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed overnight at the hotel to get an early start for a business trip in NY. The hotel was quiet, easy to find and best of all, had courteous and helpful staff. Restaurant staff were great. Rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, and we are happy to hear everything went well for your trip to New York City. As you mention we are less than a mile to the Stamford Train Station which can get you into NYC in about 45 minutes. It is great that you received helpful service from our team along with a fresh, clean room. We hope to have you with us again should you be returning to the city, and thank you again for your review.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stamford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Property: Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Address: 700 E. Main Street, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Stamford
#5 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Stamford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Stamford Hotel is located near many corporate offices and the Town Center Mall. We are 20 minutes from the Westchester County Airport and less than a mile from the Metro North line to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Stamford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stamford
Stamford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing