We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel to stay at outside NY City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A good hotel to stay at outside NY City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed overnight at the hotel to get an early start for a business trip in NY. The hotel was quiet, easy to find and best of all, had courteous and helpful staff. Restaurant staff were great. Rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, and we are happy to hear everything went well for your trip to New York City. As you mention we are less than a mile to the Stamford Train Station which can get you into NYC in about 45 minutes. It is great that you received helpful service from our team along with a fresh, clean room. We hope to have you with us again should you be returning to the city, and thank you again for your review.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    161
    49
    15
    10
See reviews for
94
65
22
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroeville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night (Sunday) in order to attend new employee orientation Monday morning at one of the investment banks in town. I had dinner before hitting the road and did not have breakfast the following morning, so I can't comment on the restaurant. Room was nice - well-decorated, clean, bed was comfortable, AC worked fine, etc. I would stay here again.

If you're driving, be prepared to pay a parking fee. It's self-park in an attached garage; I don't there's a valet park option.

For those who are disabled, my room had a stall shower so you might want to ask for a tub if you need one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Our thanks for your recent review and your great comments. We are happy to hear your overnight was enjoyable and led you to an energized start. Our property has been entire renovated and happy to hear you found our guestrooms to your liking. We do have a private gated garage with a $10 per day parking fee, and do not offer valet services, but this certainly constitute a savings compared to other garages throughout Stamford. Thank you again for your review, and best of luck within your new position.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Traveled from Westchester County to spend a day and night at the hotel for a couples getaway. Excellent service from early check in, free shuttle transportation from Metro North Station (Stamford), great and friendly staff members, great hotel bartender and prices very reasonable. The room was very clean, updated, great bathroom, comfortable king size bed (didn't want to leave it), flat screen tv, complimentary bottled water, and other amenities. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Stamford Town Center Mall and resturants. WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN WHEN VISITING STAMFORD.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are happy to hear your great comments about your recent stay. It sounds like you were able to experience the best of what our property has to offer, and we couldn't have said it better ourselves! From our guestrooms to food & beverage outlets, and most importantly the service our team provides, it is wonderful that everything met your expectations. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again in the future - thank you for your review.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and recently stayed 6 nights while visiting family, friends and NYC. We had gotten an outstanding rate through one of the online reservation sites. Everything was fine, except: 1) Icemaker on our floor did not work, 2) TV did not get good reception and it was difficult to operate and 3) no free in room Internet. They did have free Internet in the lobby. In this day and age, charging $10/day for internet is petty.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for informing us about your recent visit, and we are happy to hear everything was great during your extended stay. Our apologies for the ice machine and TV reception and for that inconvenience. I am not certain if you reported these issues to our engineering team however they are always ready and able to fix issues such as this. Should you be visiting the area again in the future we hope to have you with us again - thank you for your review.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

First, the beds make up for everything else! Haven't slept as well since infancy (I'm 65). But the AC didnt work in our first room at all and after changing rooms had to call tech staff to fix AC.
MUST MENTION LEE, wonderful person came to fix AC refused a tip, said "I want guests to be happy" and he does!!
Decor beautifully redone but it seems Sheraton tried to make do with HI basic plant without scrapping it (I guess).
Back stairs needs some TLC Still and all a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dushke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We appreciate taking the time to leave us with your review about your recent stay. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, and especially our service. We will be sure to thank Lee for the great job he does along with the rest of the team. We do apologize that you had to encounter the issue with your A/C, however we are glad everything worked out in the end.

As far as our property, we completed a multi-million dollar renovation in 2011 for our Sheraton conversion and we did overhaul the entire facility. From our lobby and meeting space to our guestrooms everything has been renovated and refreshed per Sheraton's specifications. We are also continuing to improve the property, including the stairs which you mention that are currently under refurbishment. Thank you again for your review, and we do hope to have you with us again.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had to stay at this hotel for a work meeting and was pleasantly surprised. The staff was great and it is a nice location. They have a shuttle to take you within a mile to just about anywhere. There is a mall, bars, and shops all within walking distance. My only issue was the Internet connection was hit and miss.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnchormanBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review, and we are happy to hear you had a great experience during your stay. It is wonderful to hear that the service provided by our team helped toward the pleasant surprise of our property and that your meeting went well along with your overnight stay. Should you be traveling or meeting in Stamford in the future we hope to have you with us again.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
478 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Plusses: very friendly staff, place to print boarding passes, rooms very comfortable, complimentary bottles of water in room, easy parking. Exceptionally good beds. Only downside is wi-fi in room very expensive and although the very attractive and comfortable lobby had wi-fi, it was very slow. Otherwise this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are happy to hear of your wonderful recent stay with us - thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you found our property and guestroom to your satisfaction, and that you definitely enjoyed our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bedding. We do apologize that you found the complimentary internet service to be slow in the lobby. If this is ever an issue in the future please contact our front desk and they will work to rectify the situation: we do have a large amount of bandwith dedicated to our lobby internet users and it should be plenty fast! Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have you with us on your next visit.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stamford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Property: Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Address: 700 E. Main Street, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Stamford
#5 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Stamford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Stamford Hotel is located near many corporate offices and the Town Center Mall. We are 20 minutes from the Westchester County Airport and less than a mile from the Metro North line to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Stamford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stamford
Stamford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing