We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Spent 2 nights here getting 2 rooms for family stay. Great location in Stamford. Hop skip and jump to the malls. Got a great deal on Priceline compared to retail asking price from the Sheraton web site. Check in was pleasant and a breeze. Great Staff. Rooms are almost new. Very clean and comfortable. Great Beds but they were very high. My wife had to pole vault to get on it. lol. Tiny room and bathroom. Must pay for all extras such as in room internet, breakfast and parking. Good breakfast spread. Continental buffet was about 9.99 and full on "hot breakfast" buffet was more.My only compaint was the very loud air con unit. As it was April and cool temperature outside we shut it down after 2 hours in order to get some sleep and the room remained pretty cool. I would stay here again without hesitation but NOT during summertime as The loud aircon/fan is a deal breaker. To bad as this hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: Quality hotel but the loud fan/aircon unit ruined my good night sleep. Terrible oversight on manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanntheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our property. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay and between our staff, our rooms, our restaurant and all points in-between you found everything enjoyable. We do sincerely apologize for any disturbance caused by our in-room air conditioning unit. Our engineering team is always more than happy to remedy the issue, and although I'm not certain if they investigated the unit in your room specifically, I am sure they will be able to make everything about your room meet your expectations in the future: even in the middle of summer. Again thank you for your review, and we do hope to have you with us again and experience a perfect night's rest.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 541 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

Thanks to Chris (Heal?) in maintenance for responding to our needs in the pool area: super quickly, kindly and efficiently. He was fantastic. It is amazing how welcoming and accommodating everyone was for our elderly dog, a great gift to owners of kind and easy-going pets. We were allowed early check in as SPG gold members and everything was excellent. (the bartender was lovely, but perhaps over-committed to the dining room and bar as he had to go back and forth a big distance a lot and folks waited quite a while.)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, and we are happy to hear that everything was excellent during your time spent here. We are committed to providing the best service we can to our guests and we are glad you were able to experience this first-hand. We are definitely a pet friendly hotel as well and make it a point for your "best friend" to be welcome here. Please accept our apology for any extended wait at our lobby lounge, and we will see if there are any changes we can make to optimize this. Thank you again for your review, and we will be sure to pass along your kind words to Chris as well as the rest of our team.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Had to go on 4 day business trip and this crew (front desk, room service, dining area, pool, gym) everyone was on their A game and they WOWED me off my feet. I was a bit demanding when it came to room service but my guy, Victor I believe, took care of me. I never looked forward to a hotel stay away from my family but these guys rocked the house! Kudos to you all! OHH the GM is too cool for words! My type of hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntegrityMatters617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay; we are very glad to hear that you were wowed by our level of service. it is a main focus of ours to provide the highest level of guest service throughout the entire property, and we are always gracious to hear great stories and feedback. We will be sure to pass along your note to all of our staff and recognize them for their hard work. Thank you again for your review, and although it must be difficult to travel away from your family we do hope we can make your trip an enjoyable experience again in the future.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I just stayed here for a couple nights and were pretty dissappointed by the experience. The bed was pretty lumpy and we both woke up both mornings with sore backs. The HVAC unit in the room ran full out all the time regardless of what we set on the room's thermostat and the fan for it was soooooo loud I had to put a pillow over my head to get to sleep. Other than that.....
The room was of average spaciousness and had all the amenities we like except free WiFi....which they charge for here and the rates are pretty steep for what you are getting. I've paid less for a month of internet service than what they charge per day!
We were here to attend a convention in the hotel too and were told the participants would all be together on 3 floors but in fact were spread out over 5 floors along with folks from a different event the hotel was also hosting. Not a huge deal but it did complicate things for our group a bit.
We ate breakfast in the hotel our first morning there and avoided it after that. The buffet was $15 per person and didn't have all that much in way of options but that would have been okay since we found enough things we each liked available. The problem was the quality of the food....it was terrible. The eggs were the worst I've ever had and trust me....after 20yrs in the Army, I've had bad eggs and these were worse! The bacon was very undercooked and the potatoes were tasteless. Went back up and tried the oatmeal and Wow....they managed to ruin that too! Grabbed some fruit and ended up going to Starbucks. Didn't even try it again the next morning.
Now if you have read most of my other reviews of places, I'm really pretty generous with my comments but seriously, I just didn't see all that many nice things about my stay here.
They have a very nice looking lobby / dining area. Service at the front desk was mixed....one associate was very pleasant and helpful and another was bordering on rude.
The location is good. Only a couple blocks (walking distance) from a large mall and many other fine eating establishments downtown.
In the future, if we come back to Stamford, we'll most likely stay elsewhere nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

We sincerely appreciate your review of your recent stay and sharing these details with us. We always welcome every opportunity to better ourselves and make sure that anything unsatisfactory is not the norm. We sincerely apologize you did not have an enjoyable night's rest. All of the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper mattresses and bedding on our property are brand new so it is a bit surprising that you found yours to be anything but comfortable. I'm not certain if you had contacted us about your mattress and HVAC unit, however we are always more than welcome to find you a more suitable room if it is available and do whatever we can to make your stay more restful.

As for our in-room internet it does come at a charge of $10 per night, and the charge is comparable to many other hotels throughout Stamford and the area. With the $10 per night you are getting an extremely fast internet connection (we distribute 100Mbps of wireless internet speed throughout the hotel) and it is provided in the comfort of your guestroom. As with many businesses, this may come at a cost higher than what you would pay personally, but such fast and reliable internet service for our guests costs much more for us than a personal internet plan.

Our guestroom floors do offer a combination of room types (single king, two double, etc.) and we did register the guests for the groups by what room type they requested. Having one group asking for mostly king-size bed guestrooms and another requiring two double beds for their attendees may cause for them to be staying on the same floor.

We do sincerely apologize for your breakfast experience. We normally receive great reviews of our breakfast quality and the variety which we provide, however it is unacceptable for you to have been served a sub-par breakfast. Our Director of Food & Beverage is aware of what you have shared with us, and he will personally make sure all of our breakfast items, and especially our eggs, are fresh and delicious.

Please accept our apology for receiving anything but wonderful service at our front desk as well. If you can give us more information as to your experience please let us know, as we want to make sure we are constantly providing the best service possible.

We always do our best to improve upon any occasions where a guest wasn't 100% satisfied with your stay, and please know we will work to make sure any issues are addressed. We do hope you stay with us again and give us the opportunity to prove that your stay was a rare occurrence. Thank you again for your comments and your review.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is one mile from the Metro-North Train Station which makes it ideal for our weekend getaways to NYC. We've stayed there several times now and each time have been very pleased.

Reception desk staff are always pleasant and helpful.

Rooms are clean and large and the beds are among the most comfortable I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in! I don't know if it's due to the mattress or the bedding or a combination of both but whatever it is, it's magic...

The only "complaints" I have is that you have to pay for parking and Internet access is not free. You can get on WiFi in the lobby/common area for free but if you want to surf in the comfort of your room, it'll cost you.

We did eat in the restaurant on our most recent trip and it was excellent. Pricing was what you'd expect in a hotel restaurant but the staff were VERY good - friendly and attentive - and the food was really great.

We'll definitely stay here again and I recommend you do too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morningchild67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of your most recent stay, and we are happy to have you as our repeat guest. From the service that we provide to our brand new Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bedding we are happy to hear you have found a great destination for your travels. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience as well. We do charge for both parking in our private gated garage and for in-room wireless internet, however you will find these charges to be similar to comparable hotels and parking garages within Stamford. Thank you again for giving us your review, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed two days at the Sheraton for a Convention. Parking cost extra and so does WiFi in your room. There are free computers in the business center. The lobby is attractive but poorly designed. The noise level at checkin was so loud you had to yell your information to the staff person. There was not enough help at checkin and we had to wait in line. The elevators were very slow for our entire stay. Our room was okay, the beds were exceptionally high and at a little over five foot tall, I had to jump up to get into bed. One drawer of the bureau did not close properly, but the rest of the room was in good shape. Overall, the place was just okay, the help was never very friendly and there was a long line in the little cafe to pay $3 for a cup of coffee in the morning.
There is a nice mall with restaurants within walking distance.The neighborhood is mostly office building, but we were cautioned that is was not advisable to stray too far from the hotel on foot. They did have a free shuttle to area restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green1Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and information about your stay. First off we certainly apologize for the noise level during your arrival. We have not heard this issue arise before, and perhaps with a large group all checking in at once it is hard to avoid a large amount of noise at the front desk regardless of design. That being said we will certainly work to make sure that the wait at the front desk is not an issue for your event again. Our plush bedding does leave the beds on the higher side, and we do offer step stools for anyone that would like an extra step up for getting into bed. We do apologize for the drawer not closing properly in the room, and our maintenance team would be happy to take care of that quickly and conveniently.

We are concerned to hear that you did not feel our team was very friendly - if you are able to let us know more details about this it would be appreciated, as we take every opportunity to hone our service skills. Lastly we do offer our complimentary shuttle to all points within Stamford, however we do pride ourselves as one of the best and safest locations in Stamford and certainly able to walk to and from many local destinations. We are just a quick walk to Downtown Stamford with many high-end restaurants, shops, and entertainment. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced, and we hope to have you with us again and for you to hopefully experience something special.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My room was awesome, very clean and large! The woman at the front desk was a sweetheart! I think she was Hispanic. I hope they let her know she was wonderful. Then there was the bald guy behind the bar. I can't remember names! Drat! Lol but he was so nice and fun to talk to. Awesome customer service! Mall is near by and restaurants. Great location!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruSmilesJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for your review and letting us know about your great stay. From our front desk staff to our bar and lounge, and throughout the property we do strive to offer the highest level of service during your stay. Along with our amenities that we offer and location as you mentioned, we are glad to hear how everything made your stay with us a positive one - thank you again for your review.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.3 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
699 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#3 of 14 in Stamford
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stamford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Address: 700 Main St, Stamford, CT 06901-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Stamford
#5 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range: $123 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Stamford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Stamford Hotel is located near many corporate offices and the Town Center Mall. We are 20 minutes from the Westchester County Airport and less than a mile from the Metro North line to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Sheraton Stamford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stamford
Stamford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing