We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pretty good, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fairly average Marriott in terms of facilities and fittings (its an older property) but what made it stand out was the staff - friendly and helpful to a tee. I was in Stamford on business - not sure I'd return as a tourist.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdavies2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottStamford, Trip Ambassador at Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I do hope you return to our hotel as a toursit. We are currently in the process of making renovations to the hotel. We have recently painted the outside of the hotel, and will soon begin to work on the inside. Stamford, CT has many wonderful things to see and do. Being adjacent to the mall, right next to the train, and nearby dining just to name a few. I am pleased to hear you were satisfied with the staff here. We hire only competent, friendly, and extroirdinary staff to make your travel experience the very best in can be. We look forward to seeing you again at the Stamford Marriott Hotel and Spa. If there is anything we can do for you please do not hesitate to call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    331
    162
    68
    26
See reviews for
208
181
81
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, just off I-95 and directly across the street from a mall. There are numerous restaurants of every type within walking distance.

The hotel is nicely furnished, and very comfortable. Service was great by every hotel employee that we encountered.

My package included free breakfast, which normally cost $19 per person. The waitress was terrific, but the food on the buffet was just mediocre.

I would definitely stay at the Marriott Stamford again the next time I am in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottStamford, Trip Ambassador at Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Our hotel is a great place to stay during the fall/ winter seasons as well. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location for folks that are coming in town. There is a train station nearby, lots I mean LOTS of places to eat. A mall, movie theatre, book store, other hotels and yes all within walking distance. Nice quick vacation nite away;)

Room Tip: Beds are nice, and comfy. You fall right asleep, zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Worth getting a view of 95 to rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTTravelorNorwalk_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottStamford, Trip Ambassador at Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are always so happy to hear about your positive experiences at our hotel. Stamford, CT has many wonderful restaurants, and stores to visit. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a 1 night stay at this hotel on our roadtrip from Boston to New York. Great Marriott hotel with the typical high level of service. The standard was good, but I have seen better at other Marriott hotels.
Pool and gym area was ok, but a bit worn out.
The location is most for business I think, as Stamford is quite small and not much to see, but it is a short drive from Greenwich, which we wanted to visit.
Good hotel that gives you a nice place to stay and a high level of service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solveig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Location : The location is close to Stamford Shopping center (2 min walk) and Stamford train station (10 min walk).

Rooms : The rooms are pretty standard for Marriott : clean and normal amenties.
I would suggest to add an Ipod/Mp3 dock in every room . Also the Bath & Works amenties is getting outdated.
The air condition is really noisy.


Services : Gym have a lot of machines and quite decent for hotel.
Concierge room offer free breakfast but not too much variety. The snack in the evening were good but the alcool are not included in the free drink happy hour.

They offer shuttles services to train station and different HQ around stamford.

Conclusion : a standard Marriott hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadair2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottStamford, Trip Ambassador at Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are always interested in hearing what guests have to say about our hotel and the facilities. We will definitely look into these suggestions. I am happy to tell you we now have a complete new line of bath amenities that I am sure you will enjoy on your next visit. I apologize with the sound of the air conditioning. The next time we see you, I hope the heat is working well in your room. If there is anything we can do to make your stay here better during your next visit, please do not hesitate to call At Your Service, and one of our agents will be sure to readily assist you. Thank you for staying at The Stamford Marriott Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed 1 weekend night, and had a good overall stay. The property is vanilla- nothing special, but it was nice enough, I think a standard Marriott- my first time staying at that chain in at least a decade. The lobby was nice, as was the room. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was very nice. I chose this particular hotel in Stamford because I was looking for one with a pool. This is where the property fell short. This part of the hotel is in need of a facelift- it's just worn. That was disappointing, but I have to say that the staff was very nice- every single person we came across were very cordial. So if you are looking for a hotel that is centrally located in Stamford (right across the street from the mall & close to the train station) this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_F_from_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The team at the reception desk was outstanding!! Very professional. They were able to accomodate a number of firm employees under unusual circumstances. They deserve credit for maintaining constant communication with everyone until everyone was completely satisfied.

Thank you to everyone at the Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottStamford, Stamford Marriott Hotel and Spa Trip Ambassador at Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your stay. Our front desk team is always ready and willing to assist you in your travels. Hope to see you at The Stamford Marriott Hotel and Spa soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#4 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Stamford Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 243 Tresser Blvd, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901-3436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stamford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#4 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in downtown Stamford, directly across the street from the Stamford Town Center Mall with over 120 stores and restaurants. We feature 500 newly renovated guestrooms, the award winning Agora Spa on the second floor, and a brand new lobby restaurant--Sam's American Bistro. Northern Lights lounge is our fun and hip bar serving your favorite drinks from noon to the wee hours. Relax in our heated indoor/outdoor pool, located next to the newly renovated health club with many new Life Fitness units. The concierge lounge is available for an upgrade fee, offering sumptuous breakfasts and tasty evening hors d'oeuvres. The Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa--Downtown Starts Here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Stamford Hotel Stamford
Stamford Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing