We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable and efficient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Tresser Blvd, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901-3436   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Reliable and efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

For a business trip, this place is great. You know what to expect in terms of comfort and cleanliness and it means that you aren't worrying about how you're going to sleep while on a business trip. Staff are helpful and courteous, breakfast is great (if expensive) and the gym has got sufficient equipment. As I said great for business trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    296
    144
    60
    25
See reviews for
176
170
76
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
230 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is located in downtown stamford and across the street from the mall, the bar area is attended by some of the nicest bar staff we have ever come across. Nice size rooms, nice restaurant and a beautiful lobby. Across the street in front of the mall is nice collection of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCKY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunvor
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very nice hotel in downtown Stamford. It is a typical 3 star hotel. It is located within easy walking distance of the commuter rail into NYC and also directly across the street from a very nice mall with multiple dining options on many price levels. Overall our stay was fine, and I would have almost given them Excellent except for a couple of things. Our main issue was that our reservation stated we had 3 in our party, and we were placed in a tiny room with a king bed for our teenaged daughter, myself and my husband. There was no pull out couch in the room, nor was there room for a rollaway bed in the room. They stated the hotel was full and that was all they had for us, despite the fact that I made the reservations months ago and we arrived late afternoon. Thank goodness my husband got hung up helping clear Hurricane Sandy debris at his sister's house in NJ because there was definitely no room for him in the inn that night. The next morning we were allowed to move to a larger room with 2 double beds, but no offers of assistance in moving our belongings were made. They did kindly comp us the WiFi in the room and the parking deck charges though, which was nice. The king bed was extremely uncomfortable with a huge hole in the middle. The doubles were okay. Not enough towels in either room. The second room overlooked the long island sound, which was cool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel was perfectly situated for our full day trip into NYC. There was a pool for the children, the hotel staff were very helpful and the accommodations were clean and comfortable. The nearby mall offered great options for dining as well. The value of the breakfast and train tickets really was fabulous. The shuttle from the hotel to the train was very convenient and the drivers were most friendly. Perfect Location with lots of bonuses!

Thank you especially to the best breakfast waitress! She treated us like we had come to visit her at her home and was happy to serve us.

Room Tip: We were a le to get adjourning rooms which was so helpful with kids. Hotel staff responded quickly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

it starts from front desk - of course different people may run into different situations, but my check in was flawless - got keys, was explained that it doubles as parking pass, pointed to the right direction - very professionally done.

Room
Size - standard 3-4 stars hotel's room.
Look clean, feels clean, was clean.

Bathroom - interesting design, no curtain, no sliding door - thick glass with opening to enter shower with handle right at the opening to control water without getting into shower or getting wet - smart design!
And CLEAN - really.

Beds - the ONLY complain ( and that is strictly personal preference) - mattress is TOO soft, some would say "like sleeping on the cloud" - I and my back prefer firm mattresses, but again - it is personal.

Restaurant - did not go there, also restaurants in surrounding area are quite pricey and not up to the par given the food's price tag (room service prices are high, with surcharges - but hey - hotels need to make money and none forces you to get it!)

i95 is VERY close, so I would expect room to be MUCH noisier, but due to good sound proofing - noise level was VERY tolerable.

A for value to money spent - I booked through priceline at (not sure if I can post it) $60 per night (plus $12 parking per day) - not a bad deal at all

Also - traffic on i95 around rush hour is a mess at that location, what else is new :)
Would stay again

Room Tip: only stayed once - can not compare (stayed on i95 side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdr0214, Manager at Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us! We are so happy to hear that you had a comfortable trip. We sincerely appreciate the comments about our hotel and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Had to be moved due to bad neighbors.. Hotel did send security up but it was left as our problem. switched to small room. Beds were extremely uncomfortable. No towels, attitude from staff. We purchased through Priceline and am glad not to pay full price. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 731 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I had a really nice time in this hotel. The staff is top notch, exceptional. The hotel manager here is really on top of his game, everybody from the concierge lounge, front desk clerk to bartender in restaurant were all friendly, kind without be obtrusive. I really enjoyed getting an email during my stay, not after, how my stay was going. Very nice touch.

The hotel room itself was fine, nothing exceptional, but very nice. Good-Marriott bed.

This hotel is a few blocks from the Metro North station and across the street from a mall with a Macy's, Barnes & Noble, etc.

Hotel bar had really good food and nice wines as well.

Very nice stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brklynrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#8 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#4 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 243 Tresser Blvd, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901-3436
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stamford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#4 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in downtown Stamford, directly across the street from the Stamford Town Center Mall with over 120 stores and restaurants. We feature 500 newly renovated guestrooms, the award winning Agora Spa on the second floor, and a brand new lobby restaurant--Sam's American Bistro. Northern Lights lounge is our fun and hip bar serving your favorite drinks from noon to the wee hours. Relax in our heated indoor/outdoor pool, located next to the newly renovated health club with many new Life Fitness units. The concierge lounge is available for an upgrade fee, offering sumptuous breakfasts and tasty evening hors d'oeuvres. The Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa--Downtown Starts Here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Stamford Hotel Stamford
Stamford Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing