We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel; Wonderful concierge lounge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; Wonderful concierge lounge!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights here with Marriott certificates that were about to expire.
We were greeted by a bellman who cheerfully assisted with luggage. Check in was pleasant and efficient. Because of my husband's platinum elite status we were assigned a room on the 14th floor concierge level. The accomodation was a fairly spacious corner room with views of downtown and LI sound. Some traffic noise from I95 was audible but it did not disrupt my sleep (and normally I am a very light sleeper). The room was clean and in addition to the usual amenities had a refrigerator, coffee maker, bathrobe and 2 complimentary bottles of water (since it was concierge level). the king bed was lovely with higher end linens. The pool is very nice with both an indoor and outdoor component - one complaint is that the pool towels provided are very small and worn.

The concierge lounge had a lovely view and a fireplace which would be nice in cooler weather. It had the usual honor bar with complimentary soft drinks and Starbucks coffee. The appetizer spread was rather impressive with shrimp tempura, crudite, various types of cheese and crackers, pasta salad etc. Dessert was a Boston Cream Cake/Pie and Apple Pie. The evening concierge was very engaging. Breakfast was typical Marriott concierge lounge fair.

One downside was that we were unaware until check in that a large dart tournament was being held during the days we were there. Many of the dart players seemed to be rather heavy smokers/drinkers and the parking garage entrance was always full of choking smoke even though the hotel attempted to minimize it with industrial fans.

Overall we would consider staying here again. It is very close to many good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    338
    165
    68
    28
See reviews for
216
183
81
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Reading, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our stay started with a bit of a disappointment. When we pulled into the portico, we expected to be greeted by a bellman or valet, receive help with our luggage, and be pointed towards the registration desk. No such luck. We had to ask for a bellman when we checked in, then find our way from the parking garage to the lobby and then find the elevators.

The room was beautiful. It featured an extremely comfortable king bed loaded with pillows, very cool modern (and bright) light fixtures and a nice big desk (which swung out to become a table for two). Nicely framed photo prints decorated the walls rather than the usual cliche prints. A small refrigerator was tucked into the cabinet that also held dresser draws and a large flat screen TV and a single cup coffeemaker sat atop it. A modern easy chair and ottoman rounded out the room.

The bathroom was visually stunning, but on the small side. The vanity was stone or faux stone (I'm no expert) and the large mirror was accented with glass shelves set against a wood background. The vanity was plenty large for his and hers toiletries and had storage for one's toiletry bags. Speaking of toiletries, the provided soap, shampoo, body wash etc. was of high quality from Bath & Body Shop. We enjoyed the double shower heads: one built into the ceiling and one in the traditional location. My wife felt the tub could have used no slip strips, but I didn't find it slippery.

One quibble was that with the single cup coffee maker, there was only one packet of regular coffee and one of decaf. Odd since any couple staying there could both want regular or decaf! A call to the desk quickly resolved that problem.

The pool is much smaller than it appears in the hotel photos. Although advertised as an indoor/outdoor pool, the outdoor portion was tiny. The patio area could have benefited from better landscaping and the poor flowers desperately needed watering (and perhaps some fertilizer or plant food). The pool towels were tiny and some needed replacing.

I was there for a conference and spent much of my time in the mezzanine level conference rooms. These were nicely appointed, but way over air-conditioned. It's rare for me to wish I had brought long sleeved shirts in the summertime!

The lounge was very modern and cool. The seating areas were plush and comfortable. Cocktails were well prepared and served in beautiful glassware, but quite expensive. Meals were included in our conference package and we didn't have an opportunity to try the restaurant.

My wife really enjoyed the decor and comfort of the lobby. Being in the conference center all day, I didn't get a chance to explore it. It too (like the lounge), was decorated in a very modern, chic style.

A small gift shop off the lobby doubles as a coffee shop serving Starbuck products, baked goods and snack items. We appreciated the hot coffee in the chilly conference rooms!

Upon leaving, we again encountered bell service issues. We had stored our luggage since the conference extended past checkout time. When we went to retrieve our bags, there was no staff at the bell stand and several people waiting. We ended up having to go to the front desk where one of the clerks had to fetch our luggage from the storeroom. Apparently the bell staff also serve as the parking valets and shuttle drivers, leaving the bell stand empty as they fulfilled these other duties.

Overall, the Stamford Marriott is well appointed and the service staff we encountered seemed eager to please. The welcome and bell services seemed to need improvement, but if I needed to stay in the Stamford area again I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

They really went above and beyond to help out on a recent trip. Having a Starbucks on site was very helpful as well. I didn't have a chance to use the spa, but it looked lovely! I have also previously stayed in one of their suites and it was very spacious.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdr0214, Manager at Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please let the Agora Spa know when you are returning as they do fill up quickly. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean. Service was very good....courteous and friendly. Shuttle is available between this Marriott and the Marriott Courtyard which is where all the great restaurants are. Very good value.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Denfor17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The location of the Marriot Stamford is great. Its walking distanct to the mall and resturants. There are many activites around from live at 5 to enjoying resturant week. The bar staff in the lounge are great, very friend and warm. Looking forward to my next stay in stamford

Room Tip: away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Being right on top of I95 this hotel should invest in sound proof windows. All day and night you hear the hum an traffic from I95. The pool is very small and my kids had goggles on where they noticed te underwater was very dirty, Hair, etc.
We have stayed here often and it is a good location to get into NYC.
Beds were very comfortable. Air conditioner is extremely loud and annoying.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I was there for business, and spent a night in late July. The staff were friendly, helpful, and even a little over the top (in a good way). I stay at marriott hotels a lot, and I know what I expect. The service here is above average. The challenge, while you can tell some renovations have been made, is that the hotel is still dated. The room smelled a bit musty, which I hate. The size is fine, bed was fine, bathroom was clean, but that musty smell just kind of killed it for me.

It might have just been my room, so I don't want to stat this is what you should expect...only that you should be aware that this was my experience.

The concierge lounge was well appointed, and had again, friendly helpful staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank myexperiencematters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
328 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 243 Tresser Blvd, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901-3436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stamford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#4 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in downtown Stamford, directly across the street from the Stamford Town Center Mall with over 120 stores and restaurants. We feature 500 newly renovated guestrooms, the award winning Agora Spa on the second floor, and a brand new lobby restaurant--Sam's American Bistro. Northern Lights lounge is our fun and hip bar serving your favorite drinks from noon to the wee hours. Relax in our heated indoor/outdoor pool, located next to the newly renovated health club with many new Life Fitness units. The concierge lounge is available for an upgrade fee, offering sumptuous breakfasts and tasty evening hors d'oeuvres. The Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa--Downtown Starts Here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Stamford Hotel Stamford
Stamford Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing