We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat place in the heart of Stamford.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curley's Diner

Curley's Diner
Ranked #234 of 463 Restaurants in Stamford
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
watertown ct
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Neat place in the heart of Stamford.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This is i quaint little diner right in the hub of Stamford, where you get a complementary glass of ice cold OJ from a friendly server. The food is served hot, quick and tasty. The price is good too. Sunday's are crowded with church go-er's and it's just an all-around nice place. There is also a yummy pastry case with cakes and pies from Sugar Boys in New York.... :). I love it here.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miaerrn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old fashioned diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

It is what it is: a free-standing diner that must have been there since the 1950's. The food is exactly what you would expect: fresh and plentiful, perhaps not gourmet-level, but tasty. We had tuna sandwiches for lunch, and they were reasonably priced and A-1 excellent. Very home-made. Open 24 hours.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MacJack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eat here... It's fun, and friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I like everything about this place. I make it a point to stop and eat here every time I travel the East Coast. It's worth the trip.
The food is good, big portions, the fries are fresh and hot, and everything I've had has been wonderful.
Ask the owners about the history... and the fight with the city... which they won! They're all so nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicedad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, NY
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fun, Fast and Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had veggy omlet which was stuffed with lots of veggies. The chef is easy on the salt which is so rare. The homefries are excellent too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gyro's are awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I am going back a few years, I am a former Stamford resident: 1955-1972 and 1986-1999 Curleys is a landmark. The city has grown up around Curleys. If you arrived on the Train after being away for 45 years, you could drive North on Tresser Blvd towards the old Bloomingdales, and Curley's would be the only thing you'd recognize. A visit to Stamford without breakfast at Curleys, a beer at Bobby V's and a pizza at Michael's is, well, you might as well stay on the Turnpike. Who else remembers when the Duck Pin Bowling alley was right next door? Be careful, that's really showing your age. :)

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curley's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Curley's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing