We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tango Grill FKS Eclisse - Is very, very good.”

Eclisse Restaurant of Stamford
Ranked #200 of 464 Restaurants in Stamford
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tango Grill FKS Eclisse - Is very, very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The most recent reviews are either wrong, or there has been a fine upgrade in service and food quality in the past four weeks.. Lyn and I have weekly “date nights” where we try very hard to go to restaurants where we have never dined.

Tango Grill has great decor, fine service and excellent food. We started with a Tuna Tartare on top of mango cut to the same size in a sprightly sauce. Lyn was delighted with it. I had thin sliced Chorizo and Figs served warm in a wine reduction sauce. This was followed by a skirt steak well-seasoned and cooked exactly to order. The high point was a Mixed Grill that included four different kinds of steak and Spanish sausage. Every piece of meat was rare in the center, tender and well-seasoned.

The US-Portugal World Cup match was playing in the bar and you could hear when we scored and the disappointment when Portugal did. This simply added to the steak house ambience. If we ever run out of restaurants to try, we will dine here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, CT
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Argentinian? Lots of work to be done...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We ordered the beef empanadas as an appetizer and they were very good. However, we had to wait over 10 minutes for the second appetizer to come out which was not good as we were with friends. We then had the Mixed Steaks, also known as a parrillada. For the ones that have had Argentinian cuisine, usually it is brought out in a little grill. Not in this case. It was brought out on a plate, which was odd. The meat cuts were very good but as you kept eating, you could tell the meat cuts were cooling down.

Next big complaint was the fact that not one Argentinian beer was on draft or bottle. That was disappointing as I was looking forward to a nice Quilmes.

Another complaint is that there were no desserts with dulce de leche, which is a staple in Argentina.

Service was very slow and needs to get better. On a slow night there really was no excuse for the slow service.

All in all, I was looking forward to authentic Argentinian cuisine and I was left with many questions. If you want Authentic Argentinian this is not the place to go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing dinner, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Went with friends. Service was extremely slow - there was a party of 25 next to us and that seemed to drain their resources. Food was mediocre and inconsistent. After waiting almost 45 minutes for dinner, 2 of our party had ordered the Paella. One serving was awash with liquid, the other was dry. one order of medium rare meat came burnt. A side order of spinach was never served, but made it to the bill. Even coffee. One of us asked for cream - had to ask 3 times.
High bill for food that just wasnt worth it.

wont bother giving it a second try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible service and nothing especial in there!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We went there on may 5 for my wife bday, first we ask before anything to split the check becouse we are like 15 in the party so they say no, we ask again nicely and they say if you want you can talk we the manager, we was the only table inthe all place and they traet us like soo bad, I don'nt recomended this place to any body poor service poor managemnent poor everthing

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank desa32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"fair"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We went early and there were only 3 other parties seated. It was hard to find a waiter, but one did appear and took our order. Our bread came warm but the napkin that covered the bread was dirty. I pointed it out to the busboy and he brought out a new one. Our waitress recommended the mixed steak entree.We couldn't tell the difference between the different cuts. They all tasted the same and it was nothing special. Roasted potatoes and a dollop of mashed potatoe accompanied the entree.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eclisse Restaurant of Stamford also viewed

 

Been to Eclisse Restaurant of Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing