We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Italian Food in Stamford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbus Park Trattoria

Columbus Park Trattoria
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbus Park Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 463 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the heart of downtown Stamford, Columbus Park is the destination for those who appreciate fine Italian cuisine. One of three family-owned restaurants in Fairfield County, Columbus Park was voted “Best Italian Restaurant in Stamford” and consistently receives high ratings from food critics. Known for its chicken Scarpariello, home made pastas, fine service and artwork, Columbus Park can accommodate private events with up to 65 people in its private dining room, overlooking the greenery of Columbus Park. An added benefit is the outdoor seating that allows “al fresco” dining. When in the mood for elegantly prepared Italian food with exceptional ingredients, visit Columbus Park. With an extensive wine list, warm service and beautiful décor, you’ll be assured of a wonderful dining experience.
STAMFORD
Level Contributor
295 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“The Best Italian Food in Stamford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This family owned restaurant has been serving the best Italian food in Stamford for decades. Located in the downtown area, it offers an array of dishes, each with home-made pasta. Although a bit pricy, once you taste the food, you'll agree it's worth the price. Service is attentive. Parking is tight, but there's a nearby municipal parking garage.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RALPH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    53
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had not been to Columbus Park in many years, but it is very convenient for dinner after the movies at the Majestic Theatre. We decided to give it a try with two other couples. We had a nice table by the window in front. The only problem was that the waiter had put two of the appetizers into the computer incorrectly. It was quickly remedied and the waiter was apologetic. The service was very good, water glasses were filled often, and the food was excellent. My friend and I shares a wonderful Tricolore salad and two entrees, a trout and chicken dish. Both were very good. A nice cappucino topped off my meal. No real complaints and would go back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank babsy0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Planning giving up your wallet at the door”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This restaurant is really not as good as it reputation around town. This is an example of poor service and just working off it reputation. I was dinning with a friend and we had to keep chasing down the waiter. I had the veal and it was tough and dry. The sauce was not and the pasta was okay but $85 for dinner (that was for my part of the meal), not worth it . The entire check was close to $200. They think they are in Manhattan, but they haven't realized they are not. My friend had the lasagna and he said that the he had better at the Olive Garden and that wasn't that good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1191foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Columbus Park has been around for awhile and every time the food and personal attention is always at top level.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WGHaole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Solid as a rock...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My favorite type of restaurant, 15 tables, visible kitchen, active bar, owner involved. The owner (or his son, not certain) tended to our needs, recommended an intiail pasta course for the table, treated us to housemade lemonicello after dinner. Dinner was of the highest quality. Party of seven had a variety of dishes, all reported very strong. These included Atlantic Char, Veal Torintino, Gnochi with Bolognese, Ossobucco. I had the Ossobucco, very beautifully done, well established recipe, tender, incredible sauce.

The restaurant was full by 6:30 on a Wednesday, quarters a little tight, crowd more professional than social. However, as a high quality restaurant experience, this place is hard to beat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimR310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbus Park Trattoria also viewed

 
Stamford, CT
 

Been to Columbus Park Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing