We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Stamford Icon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colony Grill

Colony Grill
Ranked #9 of 456 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Stamford Icon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very good pies. A little overrated, but very good.

I'd come here more often if there wasn't construction going on in the area. Because of that, it takes 30 minutes to get there when it should only take 10 or 15. You should have good parallel parking skills if the small back lot is full and you end up having to park on the street.

I like the hot oil and sausage pie. Sorry, no slices here! The pizzas are usually better eaten fresh out the oven, so if you can eat here, go for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank injustifiiable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    51
    20
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“go early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

go early to avoid the wait. awesome thin crust pizza, order one for each person and then one or two to take home. very reasonable. great thin crust pies so you can eat a lot of pizza! Love the "William Buckley" - a hot oil pie with zingers!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“can't beat it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

always good reliable service and quality ! I would bring my elderly mom all the time - it was her favorite [place - even though it wasn't nearby our home!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Georgia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Casual and delicious, just like we remembered it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visited The Colony at about 6 p.m. on the Saturday following Thanksgiving and lucked into a tabled in the dining room right away - lucky because we were anticipating a certain wait. A pizza with pepperoni, hot oil, and stingers and we were good to go. Service was friendly and swift and the pizza was as good as we recalled from several years ago when a local took us there before. Worth the trip. It would be fine to take kids in the dining room, but there is not really a lot of waiting room space so in colder months, you would want to go early so you are not stuck outside.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frogtraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exception food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We eat here whenever were in Stamford, Food and service is wonderful. Always and I mean always busy. Pizza and beer sounds okay but it's so much more than that, the Sausage and hot oil pizza is out of this world. I strongly recommend this place as just reading a review does it no justice at all. As a couple or with family and friends it's a great place to eat and have fun!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwendolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colony Grill also viewed

 

Been to Colony Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing