We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but could have been better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of John The Baker Restaurant

John The Baker Restaurant
Ranked #160 of 463 Restaurants in Stamford
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Okay but could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My cousins raved about this place so we went one Friday night. Their meals looked delicious and they raved about them. However, I chose the grilled chicken with penne, broccoli rabe and sundried tomatoes. The restaurant was, apparently, out of sundried tomatoes so I settled for cooked cherry tomatoes. As a result, the dish lacked that kind of small "kick" that the sundried tomatoes would have given it. The penne was very nice, al dente and the broccoli rabe plentiful. However the grilled chicken was close to being burned. The dish was actually rather bland in taste.

Dessert--cannoli--was good though. All in all, I think I just picked the wrong dish as my cousins assure me that the restaurant is normally very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SFNM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    7
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
“Stay away from this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stay away from john the Baker at all costs. I can appreciate that some prefer thin crust, but this is like no crust or paper-thin crust. It flops all over the place and won't even hold up the tiny amount of cheese or sauce they put on it. No wonder it took only five minutes to cook.

What is worse is that they put the toppings on under the cheese. This hides the measly amount of toppings they put on (you can't see it and won't complain), but it also prevents the meat (pepperoni or sausage) from cooking properly. It's limp and under-cooked.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lance_W386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hands down best pizza around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for traditional thin slice with great sauce it's my only choice nuff said

Helpful?
Thank Parks56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good local Italian restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good food, reasonable prices, family friendly. Service was good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimmy0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
503 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Great Pasta and Salads”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Enjoyed the pasta with gravy cooked al dente (just right) with the right amount of seasonings and love.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank C H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John The Baker Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to John The Baker Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing