We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Chicken Scarpiello” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pellicci's Restaurant

Pellicci's Restaurant
96 Stillwater Avenue, Stamford, CT 06902-4842
12033232542
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 437 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Pellicci's Ristorante Proudly serving generations of families for over sixty years. Home of the Family Style Dinner we offer an eclectic selection of Traditional Italian-American Cuisine along with an array of innovative specials. Whether you're dining in or taking out, you'll enjoy the comforting satisfaction of a home cooked meal. Bon Appetite! The Pellicci Family
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Chicken Scarpiello”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My father insisted he take me to this restaurant to try the chicken scarp. Well, I'm glad he did! It was very good! We went for lunch, so the portion was half the size of a dinner. I didn't have the spaghetti with it because I didn't want the pasta. I tried the bread...I wish is was a little fresher. Overall, it was a good spot.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MomCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reliable choice with consistently good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I have been coming to Pellicci's for years (around ten years, which is but a small portion of the number of the many decades it has been open). I never come away disappointed. The decor seems to date from the 1950s, it is true, but that is part of its charm. The food (Italian) is made on the premises and uniformly tasty -- not gourmet quality, but excellent comfort food. The eggplant entree is a special favorite, as is the seafood pizza. The prices are very fair.

Pellicci's is a family restaurant and you are likely to see many families there. They do an excellent job serving large groups. Go and fee comfortable and well taken care of!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutmeg06878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best family run Italian spot - Hidden Gem, hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Order the chicken scarpariello. I promise you, you will not be disappointed! The hot antipasto is amazing too if you have a buc h of people to share with. Portions are generous, staff is wonderful, and willing to make any changes you request. They chicken scarp is the standard by which I judge all others... and so far, none have compared.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia pa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Family Style Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I moved away from Stamford many many years ago. Pellici's was a main stay then and apparently still is today. This restaurant has survived generations despite the obvious decline of the neighborhood around it.

Back in the day you had Pellici's and across the street, the Brass Rail. Both served great italian and pizzas. Now only Pellici's remains and the food is just as good as I remember.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cpwhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large Italian Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The personal pizza could easily feed two people. Sandwiches are very filling and goid. We tried the sausage with peppers and the Italian sub.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seaturtleexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pellicci's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pellicci's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing