We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service !!”
Review of Long Ridge Tavern

Long Ridge Tavern
Ranked #73 of 467 Restaurants in Stamford
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Long Ridge Tavern is a unique Stamford antique shop and eatery, serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch in a charming historic atmosphere.
Armonk, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service !!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Food was very good, Service was absolutely horrible, they did not come and ask if we would like refills on our drinks, walked past our table several times and seen our glasses were empty but did not ask. Prices were a little high and small portions, 6oz Filet Mignon and very lilltte mashed potatoes & veggies. I will go back again but for lunch..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    29
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food mediocre, but lovely setting”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a Groupon to eat here and we hadn't been here in eight years. The atmosphere is quaint and the fire keeps the room toasty on a cold winter's night. The groupon was for 2 glasses of wine or beer, 1 app, and 2 entrees. The house beer was surprisingly good. We got the calamari. It looked like frozen calamari, but the breading was quite good. We had the salmon, petit filet and shrimp entree and stuffed roast pork loin. The salmon had an odd glaze and the filet was dry. Shrimp tasted good, but there were only two. The pork was good, but not a lot. Mashed potatoes were dry. Vegetables were good. Overall, it's a nice setting, but if you're looking for good food, it's better to go to downtown Stamford.

Helpful?
Thank regana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I had not been to this long operating restaurant, many operators, in North Stamford, CT in over 10 years. We took her parents out to dinner and decided to revisit the Long Ridge Tavern. We arrived on Saturday evening at 5:30; our reservation was acknowledged and we were taken to a smallish table for four in the small parlor area behind the wood stove which was throwing a nice warm heat that we appreciated. Our water glasses were quickly filled and the waiter arrived right after to take our drink orders. To start, we chose a couple of apps off of the regular menu. The corn flour dusted Tavern Calamari were good, although the calamari were not exactly "tender" as promised. The Blooming Onion was HUGE and tasty. As the portions are not exactly small at "The Tavern", the 2 apps we ordered were more than enough for 4 adults. For our main course we chose 3 entree's off of the regular menu and one entree off of the special's menu. The Ahi Tuna marinated in a light soy-ginger sauce, special menu, was ordered rare and arrived closer to medium-rare. My wife enjoyed it nevertheless. My mom-in-law had the Pan-Seared Fillet of Sole, which the said was light and not overcooked. My dad-in-law had the Seafood Medley, Shrimp, Calamari & Mussels, over Hand-Cut Fettuccini w/Fra-Diavolo Sauce. The hand-cut fettuccini are a wide cut and they were not overcooked. The Fra-Diavolo was not just spicy, but was nicely flavored. My Ultimate Filet Mingnon with Cabernet Demi-Glace, while not not necessarily "my ultimate", was very good. It was ordered MR and came out a little closer to medium. I chose to have the melted corgonzola Cheese topping and it was a tasty accompaniment. Please note that the entrees here are not "dainty" and most come with a starch and vegetable. You may not need to order appetizers to start your meal. We finished our meal with 4 cups of hot coffee and 1 slice of shared pumpkin cheesecake which was tasty and not overly sweet. Our check arrived quickly and was picked-up and returned quickly at 7:30. In and out in 2 hours on a Saturday evening with an enjoyable experience. We will not wait another 10 years to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem in North Stamford”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Go for a relaxing evening of great food in a cozy setting. This is our go to place for reliable, delicious fare at a great value. Long Ridge Tavern is comfortable, rustic and charming. Owners and staff are friendly and helpful. None of the annoying intros 'I'm ___, and I will be your server tonight' or constant interruptions"How is everything?". Just great, low key servers who are helpful and welcoming.

Lots of choices--Outstanding dinner specials, regular entress and tavern fare. All fairly priced and most desserts are home made. We were there twice last week with friends and are returning Saturday for a family gathering. It was EVERYONE's first choice!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chickadee96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ira D, Owner at Long Ridge Tavern, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
I know it's been a while since you wrote this, but I still wanted to say thank you for the wonderful review! I'm delighted to hear that we're your go-to spot for a delicious and affordable meal. Hope to see you again in the future!

Take care,
Ira, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Local Tavern”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our family has been going to this tavern for over twenty years. We thought the food was mediocre for the first several years, but after an ownership change, it improved greatly. Our kids and many friends love the chicken pot pie. It comes in large and small but in reality it is large and huge! I always get the caesar salad with grilled shrimp for lunch or the salad that has walnuts... consistently excellent. The burgers are good, as is the pasta. Friday night they have live music. They may have it at other times, too. Not sure... We got up and danced to some Motown tunes one night, but mostly we go to get a good solid meal. Not sure how the owner wasn't nice to one reviewer. She greets us by name and always asks how the kids are if they aren't with us.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCtoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Ridge Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Long Ridge Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing