We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little french bistro”
Review of La Bretagne - CLOSED

La Bretagne
Price range: $0 - $75
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little french bistro”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been going here regularly for many years and have always found their food delicious.
Their duck is wonderful and even though it is on the menu for two people, they will prepare it for one. The pates are also very tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classic French food in an old-world setting.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We love this place. The owners and bar regulars always greet us like long-lost friends. Yes, we like to eat in the bar...it's a social thing. Our favorite is Steak au poivre, always cooked to order and never disappoints. The house salad is the best around. The Duck is cooked and served by the owner chef at your table, and the desserts baked by his wife, also owner. It's simply the best consistantly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No air conditioning”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I just came back from this restaurant on Friday July 26. The food was very good but you could not get the full enjoyment from it because of the hot temperature in the place. I asked if they could turn up the air conditioning but they could not. It was a miserable evening and I don't understand why they could not use fans or anything to make it bearable.The sweat was pouring from my forehead, it was a horrible experience not to be able to enjoy the food.
Sincerely,
Mrs Carin Lanefski

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 37carin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Time machines must exist”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

A true throw back to a prior era. Ambiance is that of a restaurant of the 50's or 60's. service is excellent. Menu likely hasn't changed in a generation. Many of the entrees are plated table side in the true, old fashion way. Food is excellent, presentation that of another era. Clientele is anything but young. Thought I might look up at any moment a see a fishnet stocking clad cigarette girl selling Phillip Morris. Although food and service excellent I look for a different experience in dining out. I would imagine that it might be a nice place to bring retired parents as it likely would invoke some nostalgia. Somewhat perplexed in the rating as the food & service excellent but the experience is something different from what I am looking for.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doubleeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Classic French Favorite”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is really classic French not "modernised country continental" now found in the "best" restaurants in Connecticut. It has the old fashioned handwritten menu with all the old favorites including Escargot, Beef Bourginion, Roast Duck a la Orange and terrific Ris de Veau. The atmosphere and menu are authentic and the service and food are excellent. It is a close to best of rural 1950/s France as you can get around here and as a bonus the chairs are comfortable and the tables are far enough apart that you can talk to and hear the others in your party. Vive le ancien regime!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bretagne also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing