We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic French Favorite”
Review of La Bretagne - CLOSED

La Bretagne
Price range: $0 - $75
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Darien, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Classic French Favorite”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is really classic French not "modernised country continental" now found in the "best" restaurants in Connecticut. It has the old fashioned handwritten menu with all the old favorites including Escargot, Beef Bourginion, Roast Duck a la Orange and terrific Ris de Veau. The atmosphere and menu are authentic and the service and food are excellent. It is a close to best of rural 1950/s France as you can get around here and as a bonus the chairs are comfortable and the tables are far enough apart that you can talk to and hear the others in your party. Vive le ancien regime!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
STAMFORD
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“If You Like French Food, This is The Place”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is my wife's favorite place to go on special occasions. Authentic French food, old world service, a pricy, but fair, menu. Located near the Stamford/Old Greenwich border, and just off I-95, it's easy to get to and not too difficult to get into. Reservations help.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RALPH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time & No Rushing Allowed”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

There is nothing hip or in about La Bretagne, but if
you relish old world service, Good basic French food,
having the peace and time to converse with friends, this is your place.
I often feel as if I've stepped into a movie while here.
The clientele is generally older and most probably wiser and remember
how restaurants were in the 1970's & 1980's.
Think small local, neighborhood restaurant in France with 1970 decor .
You'll love it!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city, new york
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“nice restaurant, mediocre food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

For me, La Bretagne has the trappings of a fine French restaurant. It is dignified, the space is nice (thought it is rather noisy), and the service is attentive and elegant (such as the carving of a duck with orange sauce). However, at least for the one meal that we had there, the food was mediocre from start to finish, to wit: the bread, the butter, mushroom soup, scallops with Brittany lobster sauce, duck with orange sauce, and pecan pie. The best part of the meal was the bowl of wrapped candies on the way out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minkovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I really want to love this place, but.....”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Food is authentic, It is a high quality...but the place looks a little shabby. definitely needs an update. It is full of local regulars the food is really good but the ambiance is that of a stuffy 1950's cliche' french restaurant. Waitstaff looks like they are waiting to collect social security and they are just about that fast. Also if you are a wine afficianado pay attention. we ordered a 2006 Bordeaux they brought us a 2008 vintage same name. I asked "this is a different year" they told me that it was just as good, the menu hadn't been updated. I asked for a price adjustment. They said no price adjust "do you want it or not?". I of course took it . The wine was fine just thought they could have given me a break on price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RickBlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing