We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and service not so great”
Review of Crab Shell

Crab Shell
Ranked #44 of 467 Restaurants in Stamford
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Selleck
Transit: Bus Stops at Stamford Landing on Southfield Ave
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Noisy and service not so great”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Definitely for the younger crowd. Very noisy, food just average and the service was super slow. Wouldn't run back soon.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    64
    31
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“4th of July Stamford, CT”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Crab Shell is a great place to sit outside on Stamford harbor, enjoy a great lobster roll, have a few beers, and take in a beautiful July 4th. At least that's what my family did when we were there last summer.

We have also eaten at the Crab Shell in the winter when it was proven that the Crab Shell is a great summer spot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank brume74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch - fried clams, calamari & oysters were tasty”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our second attempt to dine at the Crab Shell in the last four months. We stopped in for lunch and were not disappointed. We were seated at a corner table by the window which allowed us to enjoy the view overlooking the marina.

The service was a bit slow at first but soon became very accomodating.

The whole belly fried clams were fried to perfection and tasty. The clams were served with Romano potatos and delicious cole slaw.

Two others raved about the fresh taste and texture of the blue point oysters. The calamari was extremely good with a light textured batter (panko?) fried to perfection and served with marinara sauce.

The lobster roll was good but the portion was small - about half the size of accustomed portions served at various other seafood restaurants in New England (Maine).

Despite our bill being approximately $80.00 for lunch, we will probably stop by again when in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CtYankee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food..fun atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved the lobster bisque...clam chowder was very good too...lobster roll above average but meat was over minced...lobster pot pie had a cheeses sauce that was unexpected. Stuffed sole with lobster sauce was very tasty. Our waiter was very attentive and beer on tap was great....and we were surprised by a 2 for 1 special so 1 meal was free!

Helpful?
Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always enjoy it.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Usually just grab take-away most of the time, but I've always enjoyed it.

It's real fun in the summertime especially when they have live bands!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crab Shell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing