We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sushi”

Kotobuki Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #79 of 464 Restaurants in Stamford
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Make sure Masa takes care of your sushi!

Sit at the bar and tell them to surprise you ! You will want to go back !!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank popy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the best Sushi houses in Connecticut”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had a business lunch at Kotobuki recently and we order a variety of sushi, sashimi, maki rolls and hand rolls. The fish was fresh, the portions sufficient, the presentation well done.

I have always been a fan of this restaurant and there only two points that could be considered negative --
-- the menu, though offering a good basic variety, isn't distinctive and a broader selection would kick Kotobuki up to excellent in my opinion.
-- the restaurants parking lot is very small

Aside from these minor issues, this is a very fine choice for japanese food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic - go!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After several visits, just had to convey a great review - Kotobuki is wonderful. We start with nameko, a punched-up version of miso soup with tiny button mushrooms - then the in-season soft shell crab - finish with a nice assortment of sushi - wonderful selection of cold sake. Great food, great service - we will be back soon, blessed to have this gem in the area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwells45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Quality”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great quality fish, very fresh. Good for dinner prices but their lunch prices are a little high as compared to other local places. The place is pretty small so you should make a reservation if you have more than 4 people. They do have a very small sushi bar you can sit at, ~4chairs. I didn't notice any outside seating. They have a private parking lot behind the building

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaS05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very fresh fish is a traditional Japanese atmosphere.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Found this little gem of a sushi place while on business in Stamford. Very nice fresh fish on the chirashi, which was presented in a nice box. The place had about 14 tables with a very small authentic Tokyo sushi place. I really enjoyed the food. The toro literally melted in my mouth - very very nice. The uni was firm and sweet. Overall a very good experience

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmranes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kotobuki Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 
Stamford, CT
 

Been to Kotobuki Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing