We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“couldn't find the entrance.”
Review of Bar BQ

Bar BQ
Ranked #90 of 465 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We consider barbecue to be an art form – a form of true pleasure. At Bar-BQ, the pig is sacred, the beer is cold, the music is up, and the joint is rockin'. Located in downtown Stamford, and hidden in plain sight, Bar-BQ's bi-level restaurant and expansive bar is an unexpected find. Bar-BQ is a barbecue melting pot of sorts – Nashville meets Kansas City, with a whole lot of mid-west hospitality and a touch of New Orleans soul. Utilizing wide plank wood from floor to ceiling, a cowhide clad wall, and photos of our bountiful farmland and the people that keep us moving forward, the space nourishes the American spirit. Pit-smoked barbecue, Southern favorites and down home cooking is in the form of appetizers and tasting plates, for noshing, sharing, or to build your perfect meal. The menu is complimented with creative southern cocktails, thirst quenching craft beers, including 26 on draft, a Live DJ and the best damn bartenders East of the Mississippi!
pennsville,nj
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“couldn't find the entrance.”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Couldn't even get into the place. Had a fence around it that kept people out. Not very user friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank katkev2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bar Q”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great little restaurant/bar hidden off the main streets. The food is very good, great happy hour! Great beer menu, they have Tapas as well as full entrées. Great atmosphere and a good after work crowd.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maducker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First timers”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Cute place tucked down a side alley, nice outdoor seating, meals served tapas style. Called for a reservation- you have to specify if you want outdoor seating. We got there, gave hostess our name, she went to seat us inside. Told her we had wanted to sit outside which she replied all bothered, there isn't any. Told her the reservation was specifically for outside, her tone changed realizing someone made a mistake, not us just being a pain. She went to "check" the patio, all of a sudden a table was available. They had a table they normally didn't seat because it was wobbly, put some coasters under the leg and it was fine, we were seated off to the side against the fence surrounding the patio on the alley side. Could've been better/smoother service, and a better table for a first impression. Didn't realize it was restaurant week in Stamford, got that special. The waiter explained we pick 1 snack, 2 grazin's, 1 fixin'. So we did (husband, I) waiter came back for order- clarified we EACH pick, not total. So it was really 2 snacks (fried pickles, hush puppies) 4 grazin's (wings, burnt ends, pulled pork, pork belly) and 2 fixin's (corn bread, sweet potato crumble- served mashed topped w/ crumbs & oats). Fried pickles were a first for me= amazing, wish I didn't like them. Hush puppies were bland. The burnt ends were the best out of the grazin's we had. Pork belly is seared fat more or less, I knew, but not all might. Wings & pulled pork not anything special. Corn bread literally 1 fixin'- one small loaf. Mashed sweet potatoes just okay, wish we tried something more funky. Whole meal served on one big silver baking sheet pan. We each had a beer flight, waiter yelled at me bc one of my picks was Stella, "you don't get Stella, you can get that anywhere". He was right, I did enjoy the new ones I tried. Long beer list, many IPA's, were not fans but still had lots of choices. Overall fried pickles were my fav', and it was a fun place. Next time may come just to hang and drink on patio with just a snack or two. Ended up being TONS of food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank md018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try the Beer Flights”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beers flights are fun to try different beers there, you get 4 in each flight for $9. Great drink selection, only had a few appetizers and they were so-so. Great atmosphere, would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Preppychic1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Free Beer during Happy Hour - yes, free beer”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Was in Stamford for work and went with work colleagues on Friday night, but only to the bar not the restaurant. Really good buzz despite there being a smaller crowd than usual due to the rain lashing down since early morning. At 9.30 - 10.30pm, the happy hour was free draught beer - yes FREE :-). Nothing makes the Guinness go down better than when it is free.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IainBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar BQ also viewed

 

Been to Bar BQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing