We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Delightful Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harlan Social

Harlan Social
Reserve with OpenTable
Harlan Social is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 447 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canal Street
Transit: By train: Stamford Metro-North By bus: CT Transit stop at Market & Canal Street
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This restaurant should be recommended for the decor, the ambiance and the menu. Very interesting stylish decor with a wonderful open feeling. It is unfortunate that the view outside is of a parking lot. The menu is very interesting and the food is delicious. At lunch, my friend and I shared a warm sheeps milk ricotta w/olive tapenade small plate. It was perfection! We both had salads - which were small in size but crispy and delicious. We sat in the main dining room but the bar is also warm and inviting. Wait staff was very attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieC655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    44
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,060 reviews
506 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Great place in an unexpected location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We went here for a happy hour after work and it surprised all of us (we don't often venture south of 95). The location is in improving and there are some great restaurants that opened nearby. The service was great as were the food and drinks. We will be back for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Great food and wine selection!! The burger and fries are delicious. The salmon is another great dish. A little on the pricey side

Helpful?
1 Thank Christin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great food, attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My granddaughter (age 11-1/2) gave this restaurant two thumbs up as soon as she saw the cheese course and that she could choose Explorateur, Roaring Forties Blue, and Humboldt Fog. The short ribs were succulent, the macaroni and cheese decadent, the wine list reasonable, and the desserts delicious.

It's in a rapidly developing area, across the street from Fairway. So it's a little off the beaten path in Stamford, but well worth the drive. Lots of free parking.

What's not to like?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nevertooold53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Conner, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must try when you are in Stamford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had dinner just after Sandy hit. A wonderful experience and each dish was exquisitely prepared. We sat at the Mozzarella Bar and enjoyed watching our food being prepared. The cheese plate appetizer was gorgeous and delicious, Korean chicken so good, as well as steamed clams, lobster salad. Shrimp and grits so good. Wait staff attentive and friendly. A wonderful and fun place to dine. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlan Social also viewed

 

Been to Harlan Social? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing