We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I bought a watch on amazon.com to be delivered at the hotel. But when I asked the frontdesk lady about my watch she said it wasn't there. I 've contacted them by phone a few times the week after my stay at the Hampton Inn Stamford and they gave me rude answers. Before my stay I sent an e-mail asking if was possible to buy anything online and have it shiped to the hotel to get when I arrive and they told me it was "No problem at all". I contacted the Hilton guest service and sent them the USPS signature confirmation that comprove the package was delivered but they didn't help me at all. They just did not care about it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodolfoCMedeiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

We are very sorry about the problems you encountered with your watch and are looking into it. We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations as this is not typical of the high standards we strive to maintain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 597 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Really good Hampton standard. Spacious rooms, easy and good parking facilities. The in house bar and restaurant had a very good menu and service. Locations is good as well with walking distance to the mall and restaurant area, about 7 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kennethtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford and would like to thank you for such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel was like the standard Hampton Inn with nice linens, nice breakfast, helpful staff. There is also a restaurant attached which is unusual. The breakfast counter is very crowded - people please, don't stand right there to watch your waffle cook or your bage toast - step back! but the seating area was roomy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

We always enjoy hearing from our guests! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review of our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stay in many Hampton Properties, and this one needs a major overhaul. The outside is very deceiving because it appears to be newer, but the rooms are old, and it is almost as if this building originally was used as something else. A Nursing Home?

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the comfort and appointment of our property and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was very pleased with the facilty, location and staff of this hotel.
The building is older than most of the Hampton Inns that you see today but it still has the crisp clean rooms that is their signature. This facilty has a great Italian restaurant and bar off the lobby. The location is withing walking distance of restaurants, bars and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Molly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are glad you were very pleased with the facilty, location and staff of our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. Thank you for writing such a nice review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our room was very clean. The free parking was great. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast each morning. We heard the restaurant on site was great but we didn't eat there due to other plans. The furnishings could be updated but for the price we were satisfied. It was nice to have fresh fruit and hot beverages available during the day and evening.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

We are glad to read you think we have great service here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. Thank you for such a nice review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn for one night on July 19, 2014. It was next to a highway in what looked like a run down area of Stamford. There were many people loitering outside of bodegas and it didn't look like the kind of place you would want to stroll around in after dark.

Do not be fooled by the pleasant lobby or the nice wallpaper in the hallways. As soon as I opened the door to my room - BOOM - I was smacked in the face by a blast of smelly, stale air. Ugh! The room was old and dated, the furniture chipped and the ceiling sagged over the shower. The security lock on the door was broken. I managed to open up one of the windows that had a screen (the other one did not) to try and air out the place. It didn't work.

If you are on a budget and need a place to stay for one night that offers a complimentary breakfast of cereal and waffles, this is the place for you. Otherwise, I suggest you look at other properties in better parts of town.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuneauDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best from reservation to departure and we regret this was not your experience. We will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our security and housekeeping teams and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with comfort and cleanliness. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
707 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#3 of 14 in Stamford
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford
0.7 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Address: 26 Mill River St, Stamford, CT 06902-3726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stamford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#6 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range: $146 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mill River, located on the waterfront, is a hotel with peerless elegance, modern comforts & exceptional privacy. When the hotel opened in Year 1985 it had no parallel in the city and around. Although the hotel has seen much change, it has retained all of its original charm. For business or pleasure, hotel's spacious guest rooms & suites surrounded with residential ambiance offer an enclave of luxury in convenient downtown Stamford. Located on Mill River Street, easily accessible from I-95, I-287, Route 15, Route 1. Walking distance from downtown Stamford and local corporate offices. Five minutes from Stamford train station offering link to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Stamford
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing