We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Got in late due to I-95 mess. Check-in fast, parking good, night clerk was new, so did not know of any place to go, though he was very nice. Did not see anyone walking the streets(after 11pm), so stayed in for the night. NO FAN IN THE BATHROOM? Anyway, good "free" breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay, we are sorry that you were disappointed with no fan in the bathroom. We are looking into this and hope you will be giving us another chance to show you how we appreciate our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 558 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Compared to most other Hampton Inns I've stayed at, this one wasn't quite up to par, but it was still a good value and we slept comfortably.

I'll give them the benefit of the doubt, since we arrived early (1:30 pm) and asked if our room was ready. It wasn't, so they switched us to another room that was (407). There were some minor problems--some paint flaking off the baseboards, a window latch missing, and somewhat sticky walls and floors. But one major issue--an A/C that didn't work--was remedied soon after we brought it up at the desk. The repairman is on duty 24/7, but we didn't think to report this as soon as we realized it (late at night) and ended up not sleeping well the first night as a result. Soon after he fixed it the next day, it worked very well and we were comfortable for the rest of our stay.

The hotel is next to a large, attractive park, and a few blocks from the downtown offices and shops. Free parking is available in a garage on site. Breakfast was popular with the other guests but not especially appetizing to our kids. Each evening some food or drinks were available--popcorn and cookies one night, and lemonade the next. Desk staff were courteous and efficient.

We'll probably look elsewhere next time we're in the area, but wouldn't count this hotel out if it's significantly less than the other options again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We are sorry to read you did not think our hotel was not quite up to par. Our main concern is for all our guests to have a welcoming stay and I wish we could have done that for you .I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had a great stay here... AGAIN. The hotel is in a great location and allows easy access to downtown, the airport and malls. Reccomend that anyone stay here. Parking is great too with lots of room for small cars and larger trucks (like mine)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We love hearing from our return guests and are pleased we were able to make your stay a great one this time too here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. Thank you for your review and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I loved this hotel, rooms were spacious and service was great. I loved having a restaurant on the premises. Beautiful lobby and dinning room. The staff were all friendly and helpful; especially when a mix-up on the day to leave was short by one day. They impressed my family and I and if coming back to the USA, I would consider staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Trinty Faith Pc... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

 We are delighted to know you had a wonderful time here in the United States and we were able to impress you and your family. We hope to see you again when travel plans permit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A/C was not working. Slow on response to complaints. New manager was helpful but she did not start until end of stay. Breakfast and the staff servicing it were great. We were provided a fan that helped by a maintenance worker.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us; it is through such candid feedback that we’re able to improve our product and services. I am the new General Manager and I wanted to let you know that my team and I have been working diligently to ensure our hotel offers guests a welcoming place to relax and enjoy their time whether traveling on business or pleasure. We look forward to having a second chance to exceed your expectations, and warmly welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great hotel for families! Clean, quiet, has cribs (the real mini cribs, not a pack-n-play) and BEST OF ALL--just down the street from an awesome playground! A must-stop after spending a day in the car (or before spending a day in the car). We have used this hotel twice on our trip up to NE as an overnight stop on our 2 day drive. A good value and a GREAT location...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for being a return guest here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, we appreciate your business. . We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel and thank you for such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was here for about a week had a good stay, Greg & Carla at the front desk are shining stars! They are both an asset to this hotel. I would defiantly recommend this property to anyone traveling to this area. the clean fresh and had a great staff. Breakfast area was very large and comfortable. Keep up the good work, and when I come back this will be the place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

 We're always looking for ways to identify star performers on our team here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford and will share your positive review with Greg & Carla. Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Address: 26 Mill River St, Stamford, CT 06902-3726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stamford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#6 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range: $146 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mill River, located on the waterfront, is a hotel with peerless elegance, modern comforts & exceptional privacy. When the hotel opened in Year 1985 it had no parallel in the city and around. Although the hotel has seen much change, it has retained all of its original charm. For business or pleasure, hotel's spacious guest rooms & suites surrounded with residential ambiance offer an enclave of luxury in convenient downtown Stamford. Located on Mill River Street, easily accessible from I-95, I-287, Route 15, Route 1. Walking distance from downtown Stamford and local corporate offices. Five minutes from Stamford train station offering link to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Stamford
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing