We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget bet when visiting Greenwich/Stamford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My family and I have stayed here several times over the past few years when visiting Greenwich for sports competitions. We have also stayed at some other, larger full service chain hotels but keep coming back to this hotel due to the value.

The rooms are comfortable, the king suites especially great when traveling with kids as it gives you more room to spread out with a sofa and full counter area with microwave and refrigerator.

Breakfast is plentiful and they were renovating the breakfast area on our last stay and it looks like it will be very contemporary and spacious. Parking is free (unlike many other of the full service hotels who charge $10.00 per night) and covered in a garage connected to the hotel.

It is not in an area of Stamford that would allow for walking and shopping etc, but downtown Greenwich is 10 minutes away, and there is a mall in Stamford very nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingridcary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

It is always nice to hear from our return visitors here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you for your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 597 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

The lobby is closed -- it's under renovation. They don't make checking in an easy or friendly experience. Basically you have to go into the cramped back office to check in.

The hotel is not in a great part of town. The parking lot is not secure, so I didn't feel great about parking my car there overnight.

The rooms, while clean, need some updating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kib57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of evaluating opportunities for improvement and appreciate your input!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just another Hampton Inn. You know what to expect. This one was a little older than most I've stayed in. But it was still just fine for a one night overnight. Consistent quality and service. The location was great. Easy to find and right in downtown Stamford.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We are glad to hear how much you liked our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford and look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel entrance and room were very clean,staff was friendly and helpful. free parking and breakfast,good location. There is a on site reasturant, but hotel is a short walk from outdoor dining and shopping areas. No pool or hot tub, i think there was exercize room. We enjoyed our stay and the area near the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daylate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshna Y, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the your stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. Please return often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

First off I checked in after a very long day of traveling and there was 1 person working the front desk... a guy kept coming out of thr back office and finally after 10 minutes of waiting he checked me in. I ended up in a huge corner suite that recked of smoke, had to change my room after a few hours it got so bad. The whole floor was "non-smoking" but every night I smelled smoke going to my room. It was an awful experience, switched to the Hyatt regency and it was 1000 times better but the location is kind of rural.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshna Y, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

I appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. I understand the freshness of the room was of concern during your stay and I apologize for the unpleasant smoke smell. While we do have designated non-smoking rooms and we do our best to keep those rooms fresh, we agree this is an area we need to work harder in. Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you travel to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here w/ my wife using it as a home base for day trips to Rye, NY and NYC. King Room was clean and comfortable. Would have preferred to have the key card to our room work for the whole stay, but was locked out on day 2. Front Desk explained that it happens sometimes. Never happened when real keys were used in the past I replied. Bottom line I can only offer this place an AVERAGE rating. Other Hamptons are more customer-focused.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upnorth37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for the distinct service you have provided us by sharing your thoughts.Your feedback is essential to our future success! Unwelcome problems can always arise, but our goal is to have them addressed promptly by staff. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience of the key problem. We look forward to having a second chance to exceed your expectations, and warmly welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We made reservations at this hotel 30 minutes before arrival and glad we did. What a nice hotel overlooking the city. It has a free parking garage "attached" to the hotel. The king bed suite room is huge and well appointed. Very clean. We were only there for about seven hours. Ate breakfast in the lobby which was very good and then hit the road. What staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our short night stay.

Room Tip: King bed suites are huge. Our room had a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

 We always enjoy hearing from our guests, even the short stay ones, here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review. We hope to see you again when you can stay longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
707 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#3 of 14 in Stamford
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford
0.7 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Address: 26 Mill River St, Stamford, CT 06902-3726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stamford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#6 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range: $146 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mill River, located on the waterfront, is a hotel with peerless elegance, modern comforts & exceptional privacy. When the hotel opened in Year 1985 it had no parallel in the city and around. Although the hotel has seen much change, it has retained all of its original charm. For business or pleasure, hotel's spacious guest rooms & suites surrounded with residential ambiance offer an enclave of luxury in convenient downtown Stamford. Located on Mill River Street, easily accessible from I-95, I-287, Route 15, Route 1. Walking distance from downtown Stamford and local corporate offices. Five minutes from Stamford train station offering link to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelPower, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Stamford
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing