We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location for Train To NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reed City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient Location for Train To NYC”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here w/ my wife using it as a home base for day trips to Rye, NY and NYC. King Room was clean and comfortable. Would have preferred to have the key card to our room work for the whole stay, but was locked out on day 2. Front Desk explained that it happens sometimes. Never happened when real keys were used in the past I replied. Bottom line I can only offer this place an AVERAGE rating. Other Hamptons are more customer-focused.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upnorth37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for the distinct service you have provided us by sharing your thoughts.Your feedback is essential to our future success! Unwelcome problems can always arise, but our goal is to have them addressed promptly by staff. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience of the key problem. We look forward to having a second chance to exceed your expectations, and warmly welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    170
    70
    36
    19
See reviews for
196
108
29
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We made reservations at this hotel 30 minutes before arrival and glad we did. What a nice hotel overlooking the city. It has a free parking garage "attached" to the hotel. The king bed suite room is huge and well appointed. Very clean. We were only there for about seven hours. Ate breakfast in the lobby which was very good and then hit the road. What staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our short night stay.

Room Tip: King bed suites are huge. Our room had a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
 We always enjoy hearing from our guests, even the short stay ones, here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review. We hope to see you again when you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stopped for an overnight with family on the way to a service in upper Manhattan. Great location . I think we got into the city in less than an hour. Room was very clean,king bed was so comfortable....loved it. Good night's sleep. Very interesting restaurant at the hotel....quite extensive Indian menu. Also had traditional American bar fare. Cant remember bartender's name, but he was very friendly and helpful, both with the Indian menu choices and directions to Manhattan. Who knew....an Irish bartender in an Indian restaurant in a hotel in Stamford, who went to Columbia and knew everything about N.Y. Perfect.
Breakfast was great too..not just continental....eggs, sausage, fruit,waffles...everything and in a comfortable setting.
All in all,very nice hotel and a great value close to N.Y.C.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cakecodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
  Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the King Room here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford during your stay with us. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you're on the road and don't want to stay in NYC this is a great hotel. We first stopped at La Quinta and it looked pretty shady. The Hampton Inn wasn't just spacious and clean but nice. The breakfast was nice and although we wwere there for just over 12 hours it was enough for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrankw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are delighted to know you had a "good nights sleep" here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford and hope to see you again when travel plans permit! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dora, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

ok so its not 5 STAR big whoop....You get a really clean room, nice tv, and the king bed is AWSOME....and if you get the corner rooms on the floor "mostly suites" THEY ARE HUGE!!!!

and OK the best part FREE WIFI & BREAKFAST!!! WHO DOES THAT...
Great for the price....Free Garage Parking..DnD...SHELL Gas... right down the road...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank newFLYboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Your complimentary review of our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford is much appreciated! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the free wifi and breakfast during your stay with us. Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, KY
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed on our way out of NYC going to NH. Rooms were huge and comfortable, but it was a bit noisy for my taste due to street noise and heavy doors that slam very loudly. The staff was very nice and it was a clean hotel with close-by parking. The mall and restaurants are nearby but I would drive to them as it may not be a safe area to walk. I would probably not stay there again due to the noise.

Room Tip: I only have the one night for reference, but maybe a room off the front side of the hotel would be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret you had problems with the noise. We look forward to having a second chance to exceed your expectations, and will warmly welcome you back as soon as your travel plans permit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The beds are very comfortable. Clean Rooms, friendly service. There was an event in the hotel and security did a great job by controlling the noise in the evening. Upon checkout, front desk staff great and breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank star333871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
 We always enjoy hearing from our guests! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review of our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Address: 26 Mill River St, Stamford, CT 06902-3726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stamford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#6 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mill River, located on the waterfront, is a hotel with peerless elegance, modern comforts & exceptional privacy. When the hotel opened in Year 1985 it had no parallel in the city and around. Although the hotel has seen much change, it has retained all of its original charm. For business or pleasure, hotel's spacious guest rooms & suites surrounded with residential ambiance offer an enclave of luxury in convenient downtown Stamford. Located on Mill River Street, easily accessible from I-95, I-287, Route 15, Route 1. Walking distance from downtown Stamford and local corporate offices. Five minutes from Stamford train station offering link to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford
Hampton Inn And Suites Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing