We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“THE BEST VALUE IN THE AREA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Dora, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST VALUE IN THE AREA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

ok so its not 5 STAR big whoop....You get a really clean room, nice tv, and the king bed is AWSOME....and if you get the corner rooms on the floor "mostly suites" THEY ARE HUGE!!!!

and OK the best part FREE WIFI & BREAKFAST!!! WHO DOES THAT...
Great for the price....Free Garage Parking..DnD...SHELL Gas... right down the road...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank newFLYboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Your complimentary review of our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford is much appreciated! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the free wifi and breakfast during your stay with us. Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    160
    61
    34
    19
See reviews for
183
100
24
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, KY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed on our way out of NYC going to NH. Rooms were huge and comfortable, but it was a bit noisy for my taste due to street noise and heavy doors that slam very loudly. The staff was very nice and it was a clean hotel with close-by parking. The mall and restaurants are nearby but I would drive to them as it may not be a safe area to walk. I would probably not stay there again due to the noise.

Room Tip: I only have the one night for reference, but maybe a room off the front side of the hotel would be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret you had problems with the noise. We look forward to having a second chance to exceed your expectations, and will warmly welcome you back as soon as your travel plans permit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The beds are very comfortable. Clean Rooms, friendly service. There was an event in the hotel and security did a great job by controlling the noise in the evening. Upon checkout, front desk staff great and breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank star333871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
 We always enjoy hearing from our guests! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review of our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to NYC. The hotel was easy to find. The woman at check in was very friendly as was the man at check out. Our room was very spacious and clean. There was a good size fridge and a microwave. The room was quiet and we couldn't hear the neighbours. There was a large breakfast area and plenty to choose from. Parking is free! There is a nearby shopping mall.

Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stacey04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Taking the time to give us such a nice review is greatly appreciated here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. We hope to see you again when you travel back to Stamford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

A decent Hampton property located within walking distance of the city. The parking is covered ,and the staff are very courteous and knowledgeable about the area. I would advise driving to local restaurants as the surrounding area may not be safe during the evening hours.
My reservation was correct, but I was accidentally booking into a room with two beds. The front desk moved me, but the room's A/C had not been activated. No problem, the room had sufficiently cooled after I returned from dinner. The staff recommended a great local pub inside the city. While it was a short walk, I did have to cross through several questionable areas. To their credit, the staff did offer their shuttle service to drive me.
The room was comfortable and clean, though someone kept slamming their doors during the night. I checked the hallway after a few late night slams, but there was no one to be found. I would suggest adding soft door closers or posting signs. This seems to work for Hilton.
Breakfast was the usual Hampton fare, but it was hot and well prepared. The manager's reception at night was a nice touch. Discounting the door slams, this was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
 Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff. We pride ourselves in being service professionals here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. We will take your suggestion concerning the doors up at our next meeting. Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Stamford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is our second stay at this Hampton Inn. We needed a place to stay near enough to NYC. Everything was right - the location, the amenities - free parking, free breakfast. And the price was right. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
 Your complimentary review of our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford is much appreciated! We look forward to your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I had a great stay - the building and fittings, service, breakfast, Indian restaurant - all flawless. There is clearly a lot of attention to detail, and this review should be 5 stars - except:

You might want to be ready to solve your own problems in the evening. I asked for more of the firm pillows at around 7:15 PM stating clearly, "I am in pain due to arthritis and I need some more pillows now." After 1 hour 15 minutes and a phone call that I was hung up on, I went back to the lobby and the very young man proceeded to claim that housekeeping always lied to him about completing duties. As if I care. I waited there for about 5 minutes for the pillows to be brought to me. Pretty lame, in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivecontinentssofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We are dismayed to learn of your experience. This is certainly not representative of the level of service we strive to extend to our guests. I always utilize feedback like yours for staff training purposes and will make certain our team understands that such treatment of guests will not be tolerated! Please know your comments are taken very seriously and will be acted upon immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#4 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Address: 26 Mill River St, Stamford, CT 06902-3726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stamford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#6 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mill River, located on the waterfront, is a hotel with peerless elegance, modern comforts & exceptional privacy. When the hotel opened in Year 1985 it had no parallel in the city and around. Although the hotel has seen much change, it has retained all of its original charm. For business or pleasure, hotel's spacious guest rooms & suites surrounded with residential ambiance offer an enclave of luxury in convenient downtown Stamford. Located on Mill River Street, easily accessible from I-95, I-287, Route 15, Route 1. Walking distance from downtown Stamford and local corporate offices. Five minutes from Stamford train station offering link to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Stamford
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing