We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hampton is the nicest we have stayed in, great bargin for travelers to Southern Connecticut and New York City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“This Hampton is the nicest we have stayed in, great bargin for travelers to Southern Connecticut and New York City”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at the Stamford Hampton Inn and Suites, and had a very pleasant surprise. It is across the river from downtown Stamford, and you go through a working class neighborhood to get to the hotel. Not bad, just not the down town experience you may have going to the Marriott or Hilton. That said, this may well be the nicest Hampton Inn we have ever stayed in.

Formerly, it apparently was an upscale hotel of some sort; everything was high end, from the marble in the lobby, to the oversized rooms and baths. We were dropping Red Sox nation #2 off at his summer job in New York, deceided to get an early start the night before and booked this through the Hampton Website. We reserved and received a room with two queen beds. Even with that, and the usual hotel furniture there was plent of space. The bathroom was huge, too.

There was even a restaurant serving American and Indian food off the lobby. While I didn’t eat there, there was a large party and the place was hopping. I did have a martini at the bar, it was properly mixed and stirred – you never shake gin, it bruises it.

Service was OK, I was surprised that they didn’t ask for an ID upon check in, but then I am an honest looking guy. Breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn fare; there was a pleasant attendant over seeing everyone.

All in all it was a nice stay in a very nice Hampton Inn, and is reasonably priced alternative to the other hotels in the area, and since it is only 5 minutes to the Stamford train station, it is a good alternative to staying in the City when visiting New York – just make sure you get an express train.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedSoxNation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We are glad to hear how much you liked our hotel and look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    173
    73
    36
    20
See reviews for
202
108
29
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
venice, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This unique Hampton Inn is so charming.The building has very attractive architecture, with more than a twenty year history, as an ensuite, senior living facility, as a condo and now an Inn. Hampton was smart to retain the building with curved archways,an inviting outdoor sitting and dining area that feels like you are sitting in someone's private garden

The breakfast dining room has floor to ceiling windows for excellent light. It also has a fireplace,handsome and elegant furnishings, art pieces and nicely painted accented walls and an impressive library. The breakfast is fresh,plentiful and very attractively set up and presented.The hostess keeps it well cleaned and is available to help.

The bathrooms are also very clean with fluffy white towels. Sheets and duvet covers are sparking white and changed every day.
There is an attached bar and restaurant with a bar tender named Niall who is friendly and remembers your name from previous trips.

This Hampton Inn is comfortable and homey, not just another Inn. .

Room Tip: The Inn is set far enough back off I95, so that all the rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your statement about our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, "This Hampton Inn is comfortable and homey, not just another Inn. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We were on our road trip when we decided to book and stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. This was our first Hampton stay & honestly we were hesitant due to bad reviews but we agreed to try it for one time then decide. We payed $99 (excluding taxes) for one night stay. Room was huge, bathroom is ok (does not drain well), cleanness level was average ( cleaning staff need more attention to details), & breakfast was fresh and good. Parking and wifi are free.

I would recommend this hotel as for the price you pay there, you get a good deal.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is a clean hotel, nice rooms.

Attention asthma sufferers: they are VERY VERY heavy handed with the scents. The scents themselves aren't bad, but the rooms and hallways are just overwhelmed with it on a level beyond what you'd find at Macy's perfume sampling section. This is what I imagine the Lysol factory smells like. It's like they had a war in there using Glade plug-in bulbs as grenades.

The front desk couldn't do anything and didn't seem to care. After not being able to air out my room, I had to checkout before staying the night. I was not charged.

Marked Cleaniness down due to extreme scent. Otherwise, clean. Gym is small but working, too scented to work out in though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jf235805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here in April 2011, when trying to find the inn I was concerned about the quality of neighborhood we were in, but checked in for the evening because they have a restaurant on site.
Would not and could not eat here, unless you like India meals. Service was poor, music and noise from party room was overbearing, after 45 minutes we left the restaurant without being served. When I asked the front desk about a place we could go to eat, they stated there was a nice italian restaurant 2 blocks away, but they recommend we drive and not attempt to walk.
So we called for another local restaurant to deliver a meal to the front desk for us.
Room was nice, concerns are the location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dNjs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to discuss the disappointment you experienced during your stay at our hotel last year. Your feedback is essential to our future success! Unwelcome problems can always arise, but our goal is to have them addressed promptly by staff.We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, MA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This property is in good shape and well kept. My room could use some TLC. Touch up paint and grout. The room was clean though.
The staff was very attentive.

Room Tip: Front rooms have balconies but also traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
 Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, KY
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I travel a lot for business, and stay in a LOT of Hamptons as they are such a great value. But this gem takes the cake. Once a private "boutique" hotel, then senior living, this wonderful bldg has much nicer interior and exterior detailing, materials, and the overall spaces feel....welll, grand, particularly in camparison to any other Hampton. Think "really nice Hilton Garden Inn" and you're almost there. My room had its own walk out balcony, and the weather was perfect to leave the door open! (getting the picture?) Tile, chandeliers, much nicer lobby and dining area furniture. This was a real suprise. Even has garaged parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, facing the front of the hotel! You can roll your desk chair right out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KY-Xenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
We are always glad to hear from our guests and are pleased our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford met all your needs. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Address: 26 Mill River St, Stamford, CT 06902-3726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stamford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#6 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mill River, located on the waterfront, is a hotel with peerless elegance, modern comforts & exceptional privacy. When the hotel opened in Year 1985 it had no parallel in the city and around. Although the hotel has seen much change, it has retained all of its original charm. For business or pleasure, hotel's spacious guest rooms & suites surrounded with residential ambiance offer an enclave of luxury in convenient downtown Stamford. Located on Mill River Street, easily accessible from I-95, I-287, Route 15, Route 1. Walking distance from downtown Stamford and local corporate offices. Five minutes from Stamford train station offering link to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Stamford
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing