We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford
Nearby Hotels
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$114
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Stamford Suites(Stamford)(Great Value!)
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Stamford(Stamford)(Great Value!)
$104
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amsterdam Hotel(Stamford)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
107
108
31
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
108
31
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinecinnamon rollsparking garagethe crowne plazafront deskfridge and microwavespacious roomthe breakfast areawithin walking distanceincluded breakfastnight's sleeptrain stationcheck in was a breezewould stay here againnice propertyper daygreat room
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 271 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Stamford HI Express and also Stamford in general. The service at the front desk was top notch and like other say, the breakfast is free so it's hard to complain about the quality of it. One thing that I'll never forget about the service was the fitness center. I was in there late and didn't see what time it closed. I was in there until nearly 11:00 and on my way out I asked the cleaning lady what time the fitness center closed and she said that it closed at 10:00 but I wasn't in the way of anything so she didn't say anything to me about being in there. Now that's good service. One con about this place: the bathroom was really small!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Five_Aces_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitRangi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Five_Aces_Tx,

Thank you so much for your feedback. It's truly a big motivation to hear from our guests, how thrilled they were with stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Stamford. We are pleased to see that our staff exceeded your expectations. It would be our pleasure to have you back.

Best Regards,

Amit Rangi
General Manager
Tel: (203) 978-5600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place was pretty good considering the price. We had a suite with a separate sleeping room with two doubles. That buffered us from the loud slamming doors and the INCREDIBLE amount of noise that travels through the doors that adjoin rooms. The free breakfast was pretty well stocked and looked after. The food was pretty crappy, but again, it's free. That said, it was one of the best free breakfasts I've seen in some time. The front desk folks were helpful and nice.

Room Tip: The suites are a nice option. Get great bagels from Sue Liz bagels not too far away. Enterprise rental car has a location next door. They are very convenient, but short staffed and therefore slow.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whacky_Cackalacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

With relatives in Stamford, we have 15+ years experience staying at various area hotels (Stamford Sheraton - now Stamford Plaza Hotel, Stamford Westin - now Hilton, the Hampton Inn, and Greenwich Hyatt) and can provide extensive comparison among these properties. This is our 1st stay at the HIE and were very impressed and definitely plan to be back.
For its large suite, price, convenience, cleanliness & good staff, & complimentary amenities, this HIE is now our FIRST choice in Stamford!

I will summarize the many pros & a few cons:
1. Loc is best for us, compared to all the other hotels. We used to stay at the Sheraton (now Stamford Plaza & connected to HIE) but it's still undergoing reno to become a Crowne Plaza.
That property is tired looking, and not sure how long is the reno time frame as it's been going on for several years!
2. HIE's 1-BR suite is extremely spacious, pretty new, clean, with good contemporary furnishing and a spacious & well stocked kitchen area.
On the 3rd floor facing the 1-way street, there was traffic noise and could use better
sound-proofing windows.
3. Bathroom: large separate vanity area with plenty of counter space, & plenty of towels.
The bathroom itself was very small & space was tight.
Very small lotion bottles were hard to use.
4. Free Wi-Fi was fast & reliable.
5. Complimentary breakfast buffet was plentiful & had good variety. Helpful staff was prompt in re-stocking of items and cleanup.
Though she started to pack away food trays at 9:30am, when bkft hour is supposed to last to 10AM.
I know some reviewers did not like the all-disposable tableware, this could be improved upon.
6. All staff were courteous & helpful.
7. Complimentary shuttle to Stamford train station was great, the driver came in < 15 minutes & was also courteous.
8. Lobby coolers with complimentary bottled water & treats were a huge plus & please continue!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitRangi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear fbc001,

We are so excited to hear that you had a memorable time during Christmas 2013 !!! Your gracious comments on all areas of the hotel are a continuous inspiration to our team to work harder every day.

We wish you Happy 2013 & safe Travelling.

Sincerely,

Amit Rangi
General Manager
Tel: (203) 978-5600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A huge hotel complex a mile out of downtown Stamford. Service was first rate, truly exceptional, nothing was too much trouble for the front desk staff. Cleanliness and housekeeping were great, the only drawback was the buffet style self service breakfast, so far so what you cry; the crockery was polystyrene and the cutlery plastic. Now I'm all for cutting costs so long as they're passed on to the customer, but really - disposable plates, coffee cups and cutlery? The coffee was served from pump thermos dispensers which also annoys me. But the beds were excellent, the shower powerful and hot and the wifi is free.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenzoVisentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is not a luxury, high service facility. So while some of the reviewers criticize the place for having mediocre service, I urge them to look back at their bill - this place is very inexpensive, and one way a facility keeps cost down is by cutting personnel. But for a basic hotel, it is excellent. Big rooms with recent makeover. The public spaces and the rooms are kept very clean. The rooms have decent amenities like soaps, shampoo, etc. Little extras like a small frig and a microwave add to your comfort. I will definitely stay here again when I come to Stamford. Again, for the price it really can't be beat. If you need a bellboy and room service, go someplace else and pay for it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitRangi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear AgP23,

We are pleased to hear that you clearly understood our market position and that's why our rates are so reasonable as compared to other area hotel. On the other hand we have better product & better team to deliver the consistent service. I am very proud along my team that we are representing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Stamford, CT.

We truly appreciate your stay with us & look forwards to have you back in near future!!!

Sincerely,

Amit Rangi
General Manager
Tel: (203) 978-5600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews