We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Jazz with Your Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coalhouse Pizza

Coalhouse Pizza
Ranked #36 of 464 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
STAMFORD
Level Contributor
295 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A Little Jazz with Your Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place opened in 2010 or thereabouts and found an immediate following. Located in the Bull's Head area, in a crowded strip mall, it's often hard to get a parking spot, and it's crowded during rush hours, but it's worth the wait. Outstanding pizza. Lots of Jazz legend photos on the wall and constant Jazz playing through the speakers. Prices are reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RALPH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quality ingredients make good pizza! Same with the beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Based on my internal rating system, Coalhouse doesn't necessarily deserve four stars like a top-notch, high end restaurant or hotel, but ranked among its pizza shop peers, I think the rating I give is deserved.

The delicious pizza and wide selection of good, unique beer are the drivers of the four star rating.

The location is nothing to rave about. The restaurant is clean and somewhat energetic. The bar is really lacking in some ways. There is a glass that separates you from the guy making the pizza just five feet away. I get why they need the glass for health code reasons, but it just feels odd. Anyway, don't let that detract from the pizza and the beer, just offering a scene setter.

The menu is relatively extensive....pizza, burgers, salads, paninis, wings, etc.

For the most part, very high end, quality ingredients. The pizza dough is very tasty and light. The homemade tomato sauce is very delicious too. All in all, some of the best pizza I've had. Coalhouse offers up some real creative specialty pizzas too. Or, you can obviously come up with your own.

The salads are very substantial too.

Beer selection on tap is top notch!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minicooperdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The pizza tastes good when you eat it there, but I would not recommend it for leftovers. The service is really slow and the set up of the restaurant is not very good (you pretty much sit on top of each other).

Helpful?
Thank Christin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
347 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“spotty service and the pizza is below average”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

family of four went in.... barely noticed... sat ourselves... then till the menus came ... WE had to remind the waiter re: of our food... barely came to refill our drinks...
GO SOMEWHERE else... STAMFORD has GREAT food options, this is not one of them!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best beer selection in Greater Stamford area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Once I discovered that Coalhouse offered 52 taps with the best craft beers in the US, I started going there as often as possible. There are not just lots of beer to select from, they offer multiple selections from the best breweries, such as Dogfish Head and Laguanitas.

Their food is made with fresh organic ingredient, and while I am a NYC pizza guy, the pizza has grown on me. We typically share a pizza and a salad to save room for the heavy ales.

Flights went up to $9.75, but you can choose any 4 beers of the 52.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coalhouse Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Coalhouse Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing