We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very interesting restaurant, with an american menu and an Indian menu.”
Review of Shelly's On The River - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shelly's On The River
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: East Main Street
Description: Shelly's On the River - Restaurant, Bar & Lounge located at 26 Mill River Street in Stamford, CT overlooking the Mill River Park is a perfect escape from the city’s chaos. Chef Gabriel Brandi created a menu of simple and rustic dishes focused on fresh, local and seasonal ingredients. Shelly’s On the River is a must-visit dining destination for those looking for inspired cuisine in a comfortable setting.The Dining Room is a relaxed dining space with dimmed lighting, and vaulted ceilings, ideal for an intimate dining experience.The Bar & Lounge is a destination for meeting and socializing, the décor is jazz inspired with a classic bar atmosphere. With countertop seating or table seating the Lounge is the perfect place for a pre-dinner cocktail or casual dining.
venice, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A very interesting restaurant, with an american menu and an Indian menu.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We could not resist the Indian menu, the food was delicious

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rmthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, KY
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Solid American and Indian restaurant in the Hampton”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This restaurant draws customers from the Stamford area, but is attached to the hotel who provides about 50% of their income. Full bar, 2 TV,s in a separate area. Can accomodate larger groups, and private dining. Typical American fare, but a very large Indian menu also. The Murg Maknhi is excellent! Prices also reasonable for its scale, and the staff and cooks are the real deal!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KY-Xenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Excellent service and good Indian Food......we were treated very well and got great advice from staff about our trip into NYC

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank DeanW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad service & subpar food”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I like to give restaurants the benefit of the doubt, maybe this was just a bad night, but I must be honest, I could barely eat half this meal and I was hungry enough to eat almost anything. The restaurant was empty and the service was still terrible. My meal was cold, undercooked and unappetizing and to add insult to injury, was overpriced. I left more than half on my plate, which I hope made a statement. I ended up with crackers and chips from the hotel vending machine, which were much more substantial.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Stach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Great Indian Restaurant. Tamarind Sauce is to die for. They have two menus: American and Indian. Try Indian. The food is great. They need to work on the service a little. But overall experience was very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tgw1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing