We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of Black Bear Saloon - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Bear Saloon
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I went to watch the Giant game ,asked that the game be put on the Tv in front of me the waitress went to the manager who then said no. The guy next to me who came in after me got confrontational about my request.
They would not change the TV and didn't care that I was canceling my food order, I left and happily went to BobbyV's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ale722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Nice employees, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Food was a little overpriced, but okay. The turkey burger was very good. The mac and cheese was very bland. The servers were extremely nice and helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mybluefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandello del Lario, Lombardia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a nice dinner”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The menu is not surprising, although the soup of the day was. A tomato basil soup that tasted very lemony- we enjoyed it. As for the rest of our dinner, we were happy with the portions and the food- just what we expected.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The food is still great but my problem is that the owner also owns the separate resteraurant in the back. So they've taken all the barbecue stuff off the Black Bear Menu and put it on the Q menu. The staff was decent, and it's right in the middle of everything!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palmtree31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I would go back”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

While not exceptional the black bear is a good place to grab a burger while sitting at gbe bar. Service is good and friendly. I have eaten there a number of times and I have not been disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wiltonfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Saloon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing