We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, disinterested wait staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Silvium

Cafe Silvium
Ranked #1 of 463 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good food, disinterested wait staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The food was simple and very tasty. The chef is excellent. The place is basically just someone's house turned into a restaurant but it's sort of cozy and not too bad. We were pretty packed in but it wasn't awful. If your interested in quiet talk you might look elsewhere as i had a difficult time hearing my guests due to the noise.

The wait staff was strange. They did their jobs but they absolutely minimized their time discussing anything with us and looked around while waiting on us rather than looking at us while we ordered. It was almost to say I'm off in a couple of hours, hurry up. For example, the waiter came to our table and introduced herself by saying "specials are on the last page, i'll be right back" and she walked away. We couldn't even ask her a question or order drinks or whatever. Again, they weren't exactly rude, but they certainly weren't friendly either. Sort of like being waited on by your Aunt Betty and she just got done with an argument with Uncle Phil.

I'll go back for the food however.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StamfordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    66
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
145 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

This gem has a menu with so many choices and, in my experience, they are all delicious. For a place to go to enjoy really well prepared food, go no further. The place is crowded and busy but you can converse with your friends. Parking space is limited so continue south to the next large lot, where there is always space.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellant Italian food full if local people!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

An excellent gem of a restaurant with awesome food and a great atmosphere. Everything we had was great. Especially loves the clams casino and the lasagna.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hugedevilsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian Food in Stamford, CT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I had read some reviews of Cafe Sylvium online and they were all pretty positive. So, after we drove up to Stamford on Friday night, I checked their website and was disappointed to see that they don't accept reservations on Fridays or Saturdays for parties less than 2. After some discussion, we decided to take our chance that we could get a table. We got there around 9:00pm and waited for a table about 15 minutes. While waiting, I asked a friendly couple a bit about the restaurant and they had nothing but rave reviews for it, even going so far as to say it was the "best Italian food in Stamford". We were seated and ordered an appetizer of the calamari, which was fantastic! It was lightly-breaded and the breading had an amazing taste that just makes a great start to dinner. For entrees, we ordered the cheese ravioli and the red snapper (onions, olives, capers, basil & marinara sauce). The ravioli was definitely handmade. The pasta had a texture that only comes with it being freshly handmade. The red snapper was very unique! It had a lot of flavor and the fish itself was large portioned and delicious. It came with a side of broccoli rabe and sliced potatoes. We got a glass of the house red and white wines, which paired very well with the entrees. Finally, we wrapped up the evening with the "Coppa Profiterol" - vanilla and chocolate ice cream with vanilla ice cream-filled cream puffs - and a lemon cream pie, I believe, which doesn't seem to appear on their website's desserts menu. The Coppa Profiterol was absolutely fabulous. The ice cream was better than your garden variety ice cream and the cream puffs were an excellent pair with it. The lemon cream pie was also amazing, as it was topped with pine nuts - a favorite of mine. All in all, this restaurant was a top-notch food experience and reasonably-priced, as well. It's not cheap, but certainly not a break-the-bank trip. I would venture to say that, whatever you end up paying, it was well worth it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReddNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Wine List”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Very nice wine list at great prices!! Food is average to above average at a good price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank remnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Silvium also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Silvium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing