We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful seafood restaurant”
Review of Mitchell's Fish Market - CLOSED

Mitchell's Fish Market
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood restaurant”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was very sad to hear that this terrific restaurant is closing its doors. I don't know why this happened. We have been to Mitchell's so many times and each time it was great. The fish is very fresh. Service is good. Atmosphere is quite nice. There are hardly any true seafood restaurants in Fairfield county so the departure of this one is a great loss. Who knows what will be put in its place, but we will miss Mitchell's very much.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    24
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

When this restaurant first opened it was a nice change to have a versatile, but predominantly a Fish menu. At the time, it was good value. Something then changed - smaller portions, inedible vegetables accompanying the dish.
The worst experience was that there was something on my appetizer (Asparagus) that I couldn't eat, and I asked if it could be replaced with something else. They said that it would not be a problem. What they brought back was a disgrace. There were two Asparagus spears on the plate and absolutely nothing else! No garnish of any kind, nothing but two pathetic looking spears on a dinner plate… I never ate there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not a nice place”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our second visit to this place. Probably shouldn't have gone, but it was close to where we were. The place was worst than the first time. They had a new menu and were out of our first two wine choices. If you have children, try not to sit near the kitchen. The head cook had a tendency to throw quite a few 'F-bombs' into his language as he was behind the line. Not working mind you, just sitting talking to the line crew. He did give a very obvious and dirtily look to one of the servers when he had to bring an order back because it wasn't prepared right. The only time we was a manage, was when he came out of his office and was eating behind the line. The food was good. One of the best rib eyes I've had and very good lobster cobb. But the service is terrible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always good but now closed”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I went to celebrate my birthday with a girlfriend in early March 2014- we were informed on arrival that we still had 30 minutes left of Happy Hour which is always good to hear. Unfortunately, when we tried ordering signature cocktails from the Happy Hour menu, 3 out of 4 of the drinks couldn't be made as 'they didn't have the ingredients'. Very strange but all was revealed a few days later when we found out that they closed shortly after we ate there. Too bad, the food was always good there and the service and ambience were of a high standard too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SareyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Place for lunch....”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and i had lunch here a few times and it was a good experience. The food selection is very good and the prices are okay too. Service was very good and the staff was cordial. A good place to have lunch on a Saturday.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCGC204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Fish Market also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing