We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chain restaurant that serves excellent fresh fish!”
Review of Mitchell's Fish Market - CLOSED

Mitchell's Fish Market
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A chain restaurant that serves excellent fresh fish!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have been hear frequently, mostly for lunch. The food and service are always very good, fresh and nicely presented. You do not feel like you are in a chain restaurant at all.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanineOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    24
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
271 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good oysters in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere, their service is good, if you concentrate in the sea food part of the menu, you will do well. Avoid the salads, try the oysters, clams, calamari and shrimps

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HugoD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
280 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The spinach salad was just okay. Fresh sea bass was spectacular. Fruti di mare had fresh pasta. The pasta sauce was average. Carrot cake could feed four. Nice ambiance. Server spoke so softly that I could hardly hear her.

Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAMFORD
Level Contributor
302 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Good to Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stopped by for a quiet Sunday evening dinner with my wife and was asked if we had reservations even though the place was half empty. Got a seat right away, but had to wait for almost 10 minutes before our server appeared. I ordered a ribeye, she ordered the cod. The chef himself brought the food to our table ("we're short of staff tonight"). Stead had a nice sear; cod was excellent. My baked potato was perfect; my carrots were al dente. My wife's sides were perfect. I finished my steak; she ate two pieces of her cod; brought the other two home. Overall, the food was good to excellent; the service lacking.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RALPH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent and fresh seafood, but terrible for groups”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I work just a short walk away from this restaurant and have been meeting friends and co-workers there for over two years, usually for lunch. I've always been impressed with the freshness and presentation of the seafood and the overall cleanliness of the restaurant. Last night, however, our office had a holiday group event there (cocktails plus drinks for 20+ people), and the service could not have been more chaotic. We arrived at 4 pm to find tables configured in a way not conducive to a party atmosphere, and it took nearly 20 minutes to have them arranged into a larger banquet configuration. I arrived at 4:10 pm, and half the guests at the table (including myself) weren't even ASKED for our drink order until 4:30 pm. Then our glasses of wine weren't brought out until 4:55 pm! But strangest of all was the timing of the food that was brought out. Although it was all fresh and tasty, it came out of the kitchen in rapid-fire waves, hot appetizers first. Seriously, about 90 minutes into the banquet, they brought out bread and crudite platters, AFTER the hot appetizers had been served. Half of us never even received glasses of water. In all, the food was very good, but the service very poor. I would never consider booking this place for a group event.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kch561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Fish Market also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing