We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bar with a small restarant attached”
Review of Gray Goose

Gray Goose
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A bar with a small restarant attached”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Food was great and worth a trip across the street from the hotel if you're staying there, but it is a "local" visited by everyone who knows everyone else there--not a bad thing, but there is no separation between the bar (and its stools & standing area) and the tables where you'd eat. The noise is incredible! There is some outside seating but it was 95+ that day so we couldn't really do that...we finished up quickly and left as we couldn't even hear each other talk across a 18 inch table. We remember we enjoyed the food but the din spoiled the rest of the experience. I'm very glad the people who live in Southport have this place to have fun in, but think I'd give it a pass next time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew02459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    58
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A new pleasure the Old Post Road in Southport”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not sure what was better, the food or the service. Both are important to me and both were great. It was a muggy night so we ate in the comfortably cool dining room. This was a first visit for all and we orderd what looked good to us: Steak and Shrimp, Scallops, Crispy Szechuan Shrimp and Calamari and Chicken Trafungi. Each was prepared consistent with our high expectations. We shared a lot and all were pleased. The desserts were terrific, particularly the Warm Apple Tart - best ever. Service was five-star - very attentive. We will be going back again and recommend it to all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinK0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Great Neighborhood Bar”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Celebrated a big event with friends. Bar was SRO with lots of friendlies. No draft beer and boring bottle selection. Lots of wines by the glass. Atmosphere is casual/sophisticated. Food was marvelous. Mussels in red sauce and lobster sandwich got raves. Solid music on the front porch. Lots of happy faces, I;ll be back...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not totally smoke free”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were a party of 4 on a recent Tuesday evening. One in our party has enjoyed lunch here in the past. We were seated on the patio, in the corner closest to the parking lot and road. The menu has lists of specialty cocktails but no prices are provided. Nevertheless, we each had a cocktail which arrived promptly enough. We each ordered sandwiches which were large portions and good. We would have ordered a starter to share but the table was so small and cluttered with glassware that it would have been awkward. Our overall experience was diminished by a smoker sitting outside on the wall of the front porch filling the patio with disgusting smoke. We did mention it to the bartender and the solution was to close the patio door to the outside. It quickly became uncomfortably hot in the room. If I were to return to this restaurant I would not sit in the same area of the patio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank east12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Memorable DInner - a happening bar!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had another memorable dinner at the Gray Goose this past Saturday night. I am not from the area but have visited quite a bit the last 4 years. I found it to be a 'local's special place' as it is off the beaten track - but what a find!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maude1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Goose also viewed

 

Been to Gray Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing