We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A Haven of Peace and Tranquility!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delamar Southport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delamar Southport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A Haven of Peace and Tranquility!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Recently my wife and I sold our home in Fairfield, CT and purchased a condo in nearby Westport, CT. There was a week's gap between the real estate closings/move out/move and as my wife is a travel agent and very knowledgeable about hotels in the area, she booked us into the Delamar in Southport. Selling/buying and moving, all in the space of one week, created a lot of anxiety and stress. The "antidote" was our time at the Delamar. It was truly a haven of peace and tranquility! The accommodations and related hotel services, dining and other amenities were superb. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Staying at the Delamar as our temporary "home" was a wonderful experience and if anyone is seeking an elegant, sophisticated hotel for either a short term or extended stay, they won't find a better place in Fairfield County than the Delamar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard B, Front Office Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of Delamar Southport! I'm happy to know that during such a stressful transition period we were able to make you feel at home and offer world class service and amenities for your family. I hope that as a local resident now we get to see you in Artisan Restaurant from time to time! Thank you again for staying with us.

Warm Regards,
Leonard Beard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    68
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
81
116
7
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

As a travel agent, I have a very critical eye and I hate to admit it, I am spoiled. I have had the opportunity to see and stay at some of the best hotels and resorts worldwide. That said, I have grown to appreciate the smaller more intimate properties such as The Delamar Southport. This hotel felt like home! Although we had a number of rooms, none were so far away from the main lobby as to require a golf cart ! I especially loved the free transfers which we all used to visit nearby salons and venues. We had guests from Australia and NYC who raved about the food, claiming it was better than some of the best NY has to offer. The "Artisan" was especially cozy with monogramed blankets. I would recommend this hotel as well as their attentive staff anytime !
I appreciate that personal touch that Louis gave us upon check-in and I would trust my daughter's wedding to Jacqueline Kosiba (Director of Sales)

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you may not want to overlook the restaurant on a Saturday night. I, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard B, Front Office Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review of Delamar Southport. It was a pleasure to host you and your family for your daughter's wedding. For such a well traveled guest to speak so highly of us, truly highlights our dedication to creating memorable stays and experiences for all guests. I will certainly pass your compliments on to Louis and Jackie. Congratulations again on your daughter's wedding and we look forward to welcoming you back to Delamar Southport soon!

Warm Regards,
Leonard Beard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Delamar Southport while visiting friends in the area. The hotel itself is lovely (our room was especially nice, large and well appointed) and the restaurant is terrific. It's also located very conveniently and we were able to take a walk around the local harbor, visiting an art gallery and antique store as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey128685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard B, Front Office Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Delamar Southport. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your hotel accommodation and our amenities, as well as your dining experience in our restaurant Artisan. Thank you for staying with us. I hope we can welcome you back for another visit soon.

Best Regards,
Leonard Beard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The hotel has an old world feel and atmosphere but was only constructed three years ago.
The rooms are large with plenty of space for work and equipped for the business traveller.
Only drawback was that my TV was a long way from the bed and not very big.
The restaurant had great food and a good selection.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor which was convenient but I did get some early morning foot traffic ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you got to enjoy the hotel as well as restaurant. Look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Warm Regards, Mariya Sytnyk Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had been to the Delamar before and loved every bit of it. This week we were having a lovely dinner on the patio at Artisan when my husband had a medical emergency. I went to the front desk and Samantha called 911 immediately. Not only did the EMT's arrive within minutes, there were medical personnel eating dinner nearby who came to our service. These angels were able to stabilize him before transport to Bridgeport Hospital.
We are only sorry that we did not get to stay the night at the Delamar! I missed the fabulous room and European style breakfast! When I returned the next day to pick up our luggage, I met the general manager. She could not have been more kind. I also saw the bellman who conveyed his sincere concern. And Samantha...she is just the best. Many thanks to her for acting quickly and professionally, for helping to save my husband's life.
We look forward to returning to the charming Delamar... under better circumstances!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrcurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review of Delamar Southport. We happy to know that your husband have recovered. I will make sure to pass along your great compliments to Samantha. We appreciate you support of Delamar Southport and would love to welcome you in the future for a return visit.
Warmest Regards, Mariya Sytnyk Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Delamar Southport is a great place to stay and the only hotel we frequent in the area. The rooms are beautiful and the staff could not be more welcoming and attentive to your needs. The champagne on arrival at the front desk is a very nice touch. We have stayed here several times and are always able to reserve our favorite room. The hotel restaurant, Artisan, and bar are really cozy and the food and service is fantastic. We have a student at a local college nearby and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are really nicely put together but we like the corner rooms at the rear the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard B, Front Office Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of Delamar Southport. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and hope you to welcome you back to our property soon.

Best Regards,

Leonard Beard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The only drawback to this little roadside gem is the location which makes for very noisy sleeping as it is situated right by a heavily trafficked freeway. BRING EAR PLUGS. The rooms are lovely...four poster beds, marble and granite bathrooms, fluffy robes, high end Elemis bath amenities, and comfy mattresses. The onsite restaurant has an outdoor pavilion which was lovely for after dinner drinks. We actually had a fabulous meal across the street (for much less) at The Gray Goose...really good food and some of the best mussels diablo around. The lobby is cozy and quaint and feels like a New England Inn upon entering. They have bikes and the scenic drive along the posh beachfront homes and small beaches of Southport is not to be missed. The biggest drawback was the constant noise from the freeway all. night. long. The hotel also has a small gym and spa. Do bring ear plugs as this is the most elegant roadside stay you will ever encounter and there is not many properties in the area. It's very pricey for a roadside hotel...rooms start at $259 and up. The staff, especially the bell help, were very accommodating and helpful. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute drive from the Bridgeport/Port Jefferson Ferry. (Make advance reservations online in summer months as the ferry to Long Island is VERY POPULAR. Finding the property (even with our GPS) was a bit tricky as it is on a side road just off the freeway. Breakfast is included and they offered yogurt, pastries, cereal, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and juices and other standard acoutrements. Other than the road noise...this place is quite nice and refined.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the freeway. Bring ear plugs. Our room was at the very end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTalkHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard B, Front Office Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I am pleased to know enjoyed your visit. With our close proximity to both I-95 and the Port Jefferson Ferry, travel from New York City and Long Island is easy and convenient for all types of travelers. I am truly sorry to hear that you found your accommodation noisy. We have taken many steps to eliminate background noise from the nearby interstate, including triple pane windows, and sound absorbing fabrics. Be sure to ask for a room on our courtyard side for your next visit to ensure an accommodation more to your liking. Thank you for your compliments towards our dedicated and hardworking staff, and thank you for staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Leonard Beard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
19.4 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
15.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Circle Inn
Fairfield Circle Inn
#2 of 3 in Fairfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
4.6 mi away
Hotel Hi-Ho
Hotel Hi-Ho
#1 of 3 in Fairfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westport Inn
The Westport Inn
#1 of 1 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delamar Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delamar Southport

Property: Delamar Southport
Address: 275 Old Post Rd, Southport, CT 06890-1305
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delamar Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the charming New England seaside village of Southport, CT, Delamar Southport Hotel offers rooms and suites that are at once elegant, warm, and welcoming. Suites at the Delamar include fireplaces, beautifully outfitted kitchens, and living room sitting areas. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan, offers both Tavern fare in the lively bar area, and a fine dining room - both featuring exquisite farm-to-table seasonal menus. The hotel's Spa is a private suite complete with a steam shower, adjacent to the fitness center with ample courtyard views. Just steps from the Southport Train Station, and an hour outside of New York City, Delamar Southport is convenient and accessible, yet feels like a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Delamar Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delamar Southport Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing