We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of potential, nice place to stay... needs the polish still”
Review of Delamar Southport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delamar Southport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Lots of potential, nice place to stay... needs the polish still”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The hotel seems to be a renovated block of row houses connected together, and they did a nice job. The rooms are very comfortable, and while the view is nothing to rave about (looks out over I-95), they are extremely quiet... you don't hear street or highway noise at all.

They have a nice exercise room, and most rooms have a little refrigerator, coffee maker, etc. The internet is also free ... a good thing, nothing drives you more nuts than paying $300+ for a room and getting nickeled and dimed for the internet... kudos to Delamar for making that free.

Everyone is helpful, but they just don't have the polish and rhythym needed to give a 5 star experience. Things just seem a bit awkward... it just doesn't flow like a matured 5 star hotel. For example.. nice exercise room, but they hadn't restocked the towels and water (someone came up at one point and finally did it). Called about a plumbing issue, and they forgot we called and had to call again, at which point they fixed it no problem.

The restaurant has opened and we had breakfast there... the food was very good, prices reasonable, but again missing the cooridination (brought the wrong tables food to our table, for instance... confused about which of the multiple servers took order, etc).

So... very nice staff, very nice hotel, very good food... they just need to get the coordination down if they want to make that last star!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AAndTMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    71
    22
    12
    4
See reviews for
87
129
7
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed in a second floor, Superior Room with a king bed and fireplace (which we did not use) overlooking the courtyard for two weekend nights. The bed was very, very comfortable, and the room overall very pleasant with good water pressure in the shower. Finding a half bottle of wine and cookies in our room when we arrived was a nice touch. We picked the Hotel Delamar for a weekend getaway in part due to its proximity to the Metro North train station, which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

The first night we walked to Paci, an Italian restaurant in a converted train station and enjoyed the eggplant and pasta dishes. The second night, we had a stellar dinner at the hotel’s restaurant, Artisan, and would highly recommend it. Our dishes included the tuna crudo, homemade salmon gravlax, crispy duck breast, a fish whose name escapes me, and the Delight (cheesecake ice cream, raspberry, blueberry, strawberry sorbet, muscatel glaze). For lunches, we ate at the Grey Goose across the street, which we also enjoyed.

Front desk service and bellman service (the gentleman helped us with the hotel’s bikes) were very good. Housekeeping was a bit spottier, as we left our room on Saturday around 11 am for a 2 hour bike ride and housekeeping had not been to our room in our absence, even though I left the Service Please sign on our door. On Saturday evening when away for dinner, I thought that we might get turndown service, but again, our room was not touched while we were at dinner. We did, however, receive turndown service on Friday night.

Overall our experience was positive, but a few cautions. The Artisan tavern (which is adjacent to the restaurant) has outside seating space with a bar in the courtyard. Last call is at 1:30 a.m. As the weekend nights wore on, we noticed a definite increase in the bar noise level which we could hear in our room. The windows appeared to be double paned, so I am not certain why we were hearing as much bar patron chatter as we did. Being on the second floor, we heard the footsteps of the third floor guests and we occasionally heard murmurings from the guests in the adjacent room. The sounds of the other guests did not pose any sleep issues, but I mention it because other reviewers have indicated that the hotel was much quieter. We would stay here again, but only in colder weather when the outside bar is closed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox Dale, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Gorgeous hotel right off the highway! Who knew? I stayed here last week and found it to be a great new option. Room was spacious, immaculate, classical music playing when I arrived, and a lovely note with a snack and some wine. I will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

What impressed us most was the friendly, positive and "can-do" attitude from all the staff we encountered. We had two problems of collapsing beds, embarrassing for us but dealt with promptly, efficiently and sensitively by the staff.

The have been problems arising from the refurbishment but these have almost completely been resolved.

We had a standard room, beautifully furnished, clean, comfortable bed, spacious and quiet ( we did not know our neighbours existed). The restaurant was not open during our stay, but the complimentary breakfast was extremely good. The informal seating allowed us to chat to fellow guests.

We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone in the area. If we're ever back, this is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: For quieter rooms, ask for ones facing away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cariadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We love the DELAMAR so much that we stayed there in April, May and June! Our three visits were wonderful in every detail. The hotel is charming. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. The staff is helpful and friendly. When in Fairfield County, one must stay at the DELAMAR!

The Bartley Family
Grosse Pointe, MI

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartley881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Delamar hotel in Southport somewhat by default. Accommodations are pleasant and the location is perfect for the area, however the prices for what is provided are high. In the first place, most of the amenities are not completed, including what appears will be an outdoor patio/bar area and the restaurant. We were told by friends that breakfast would be included. We travel extensively and must report that this was the most meager "breakfast" ever - dry scrambled eggs and some pastry and an almost empty tea caddy - with no regular tea offered! Now to my real gripe. We stayed in this room only because it was reserved in advance for a "special" price (no refunds allowed) for three nights in anticipation of an important and emotional visit from my brother to attend the high school graduation of two of his family members. Unfortunately, my brother's cancer treatment was unexpectedly interrupted and changed to a new protocol that required him to spend six grueling days going back and forth to the hospital for treatment and tracking during the very time he was hoping to be a hotel guest. An appeal to the hotel was met with only the offer for a credit for one of the rooms that needed to be used within the next three months - AND an increase in the price to the regular price for the room! What kind of deal is that!??!? We travel frequently and have never encountered such inflexibililty and lack of care for customers. This place may be a better value when everything is completed but their pricing policies need to be reviewed.

Room Tip: Do not reserve rooms at this hotel in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank FloV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My sister and I stayed here for our 40th birthday getaway - we loved the hotel, it beautiful and very comfortable. We will defintely be back and look forward to trying out the restaurant and hotel patio (was under construction during our visit). We enjoyed a day in Westport for lunch and shopping as it's very close. There is a nice restaurant (the GreyGoose)across the street from the hotel as well. The spa is small but fit our needs for massages which were great!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sj541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
19.4 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
1.1 mi away
The Westport Inn
The Westport Inn
#1 of 1 in Westport
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The J House Greenwich
The J House Greenwich
#2 of 3 in Greenwich
322 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,357 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delamar Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delamar Southport

Property: Delamar Southport
Address: 275 Old Post Rd, Southport, CT 06890-1305
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delamar Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the charming New England seaside village of Southport, CT, Delamar Southport Hotel offers rooms and suites that are at once elegant, warm, and welcoming. Suites at the Delamar include fireplaces, beautifully outfitted kitchens, and living room sitting areas. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan, offers both Tavern fare in the lively bar area, and a fine dining room - both featuring exquisite farm-to-table seasonal menus. The hotel's Spa is a private suite complete with a steam shower, adjacent to the fitness center with ample courtyard views. Just steps from the Southport Train Station, and an hour outside of New York City, Delamar Southport is convenient and accessible, yet feels like a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delamar Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delamar Southport Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing