We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Diner Food Around”

Saint's Restaurant and Catering
Ranked #41 of 188 Restaurants in Southington
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Diner Food Around”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We come here all the time. We love the hot dogs with chili sauce, cheesesteak, and LOVE the broasted chicken. It is $4.50 for the 4 piece chicken dinner. The delicious coleslaw and fries come with it. I always get the broasted potatoes. They fry it a special way so there is no oily mess. It is crispy and delicious. You can't beat the prices! I do have to say sometimes the waitstaff is rude, depending who you get. Sometimes they are sweet and other times, we wait a long time to get attention, a box or the check so we can leave. This happens especially when we sit at the counter in plain sight. Still, whenever we want a cheap meal and comfort food, this is my number one choice!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLEPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
272 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great place for inexpensive instead of fast food”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had the chili dog and broasted chicken with broasted potatoes. It was good. This is not gourmet this is diner comfort food. The prices are great! Less expensive than the big arches for the amount and quality you get. Though I did notice the waitstaff mixing old coffee with older coffee then serving it. Coffee shouldn't be on the burner more than an hour. I did wonder how long it had been sitting there. We ate dinner for the same price as a fast food place and had leftovers to bring home. We will go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stagetek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All around”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The all around experience is terrible don't get me wrong the food is OK but the wait staff is not so good. Terrible attitudes and not very friendly. Breakfast one time took 20 min staff did nothing we walked out. Went back after a year and the staff was the same people but even colder then ever no smiles , no customer service nothing at all will not go back

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good dogs, great chili sauce”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a mom and pop hot dog place. Nothing fancy, but there is a local vibe that can't be beat. Chili dogs are a must as the meat sauce is delicious. There is also broasted chicken available which is very hard to fins and is very tasty. My only (minor) complaint is that the fries are thick cut, which is not my preference.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Really a diner in wood garb”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went in for lunch, attracted by the full parking lot. Menu is actually pretty broad, ranging from chili dogs to pulled pork sandwiches. Tried the $ 3. chili dog, which came with the local style brown "meat sauce" on top. Frankly, the Costco hot dogs are better and a lot cheaper to boot. Wife's chicken sandwich was kinda pricey at $4.+, came on a kaiser roll with no sides. Lunch was $16 with two soft drinks and 2 sides.

The place was filled with what appeared to be locals, but there are better choices around.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteL92833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint's Restaurant and Catering also viewed

 
Plantsville, Southington
Milldale, Southington
 

Been to Saint's Restaurant and Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing