We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property wasn't Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southington
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Southington
Enterprise, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Property wasn't Great”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was a little disappointed by this property. Normally we stay at the Hampton Inn but the closest one was booked. We figured that the Holiday Inn would be the next best thing. It was not that clean and the beds felt like we were sleeping on bricks.

Room Tip: Sorry, I just don't have any. The young lady in front was very nice and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vglindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southington, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear vglindsey,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of our hotel and the beds in your room fell below your expectations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    52
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
52
27
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

As Southington CT is fairly central for me in CT when I am there on business. I do make a point to stay at HI's and favor HI Express because of the breakfast included. As I have now stayed at this location several times and would say overall they are one of the better ones because of their detail to satisfaction especially with Rosemary and her staff. I will not saw it has been perfect but how I guage my expereince is what they do when there are issues and they have done well to correct any issue I have had. The only thing that still needs improvement is the OJ... it is terrible but all else meets expectations for breakfast as the location is great, located right off 84 and plenty of restaurants and access nearby to start and end the business day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBJ400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were traveling to Connecticut and a relative recommended The Holiday Inn Express in Southington for an overnight stay. We made reservations a few days earlier and when we checked in ‘the room was ready and available’. The hotel is situated off I84 in the central part of the state, North of Waterbury, and has nice surroundings. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, quite spacious with a very comfortable king-size bed and a spotless bathroom. Breakfast was included (serve yourself in the lobby), with many selections and the food was good. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would stay there again if we’re ever in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walthill, Nebraska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stopped here due to a business trip in Connecticut. I booked the room as I was shocked to see that there were not a lot of hotels in the area. I stayed for one night on a Saturday evening and was very pleased when I arrived at the hotel. The property was clean, the staff was friendly, and the room was very nice. I especially liked the pillow top mattress. I slept like a baby even with a bad back, very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was hot, a welcome change. The eggs were fresh, the sausage was hot and fresh. The biscuits and gravy were fresh and hot also. Had yogurt, toast, bagels, and a wide variety of juices, milk and hot coffee. Very nice. I would gladly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The staff disrespected my family and i. My daughter was playing in our room and we were accused of having a dog in our bedroom, followed by telling me i was unable to stay the night with my "dog". We were not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashsstopieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southington, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I am terribly distressed by the comment regarding your recent experience at our hotel. We absolutely did not intend to insult your family during a noise complaint investigation and I am very sorry to find that you felt that way. I appreciate your feedback and strive to offer a pleasurable experience for every guest at our hotel so I am taking this matter up with our associates to be certain we are able to clearly communicate our policies and information to guests going forward.

Again, I’m terribly sorry for any miscommunication. Please feel free to call me directly to further discuss this incident.

Rosemary Vieira
General Manager
(860) 276-0736
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Although HIE properties offer basic features and comforts, my wife and I were pleased with our choice to stay at the HIE Southington. Just traveling through on I-84, the hotel was easy to find, near a variety of restaurants and comfortable. What inspired me to write this review was the excellent breakfast service. We came downstairs to check out, have a quick breakfast and depart to find the lobby packed with kids sports teams! There must have been a wrestling competition nearby as the lobby was swarming with teenage boys and their gear. I groaned knowing that the complimentary breakfast buffet would be stripped bare. Not so! The attending staffer, I think her name was Firdoze, had the food freshly restocked, the tables cleaned, and everything in order. This took effort and we appreciated it enough to document this favorable review.

We would stay here again on future trips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here on jan 4 the night I married my babygirl!! We checked in 2 find a musty room with a bathtub that wouldnt drain,I immediately brought this 2 the attn of the clerk who did move us but I found it kinda rude that he took 2 phonecalls 1st. the next room was musty also,and had a filthy bathroom. I again mentioned this and told the clerk I would be down after the JP completed r ceremony, the clerk said ok then called us in the middle of it. I called the front desk 2 address this &the very nice manager Rose comped or room 4the nt,however no1 ever came 2 clean it. It was certainly a nice gesture however im not sure id suggest this hotel as it smells and is dirty

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southington, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Joel,
Congratulations on your marriage and I am excited you chose to do so at our hotel! My deepest apologies for the disruption of your ceremony. We have addressed your concerns with the appropriate staff members. We strive to maintain a clean and friendly hotel. I remember you shared with me that you also work in the hotel industry and I want to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, as it helps us constantly improve.

Rosemary Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southington
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southington
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Southington
Residence Inn Southington
#2 of 8 in Southington
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southington - Cheshire
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Plainville
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southington
Address: 120 Laning St, I-84, Exit 32, Southington, CT 06489-1642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Southington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Southington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Southington, Connecticut! Our hotel is located directly off I-84 at exit 32, in the heart of Southington. Our newly renovated hotel is only minutes from the ESPN headquarters, General Electric, Trumpf, BAE Systems, as well as Connecticut's capital, Hartford. Enjoy Lake Compounce, New England's Family Theme Park just minutes away from the hotel. Lake Compounce has something to offer for everyone, from thrill rides to water slides, fabulous food, & top notch entertainment. Just a short drive away you can experience Westfarms Mall and Blue Black Square, which offers a variety of shops and unique restaurants. We would love to be the host of your next meeting. We offer meeting space which can accommodate up to 80 people. For business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express has what it takes to offer 100% satisfactory service. We offer favorite foods at our 24-hour market, free high-speed Internet access to connect with work and home, and of course, a complimentary hot breakfast in the morning to start your day off right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southington Hotel Southington
Holiday Inn Southington
Southington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing